We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not at all worth the time $$ - even with a coupon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spartacus Restaurant

Spartacus Restaurant
4139 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-2502
919-489-2848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 675 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not at all worth the time $$ - even with a coupon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were in Durham last light for a dance performance at DPAC and, since we really like Greek food, decided to use one of our Entertainment book coupons to try Spartacus. Should have really taken the time to read these reviews!! While the service was quite good, the food was mediocre at best.
In fact, the only really enjoyable thing was my husband's cocktail - a Raspberry Veranda.
That was one of the most refreshing & perfectly blended cocktails we've had in a long time.
We would agree that the mixed platter appetizer platter left a good bit to be desired - greasy spanikopita and dried out meats. My husband's "greek" salad was minus both olives and feta. We had the specials - lamb shank (normally one of my husband's very favorite dishes) and swordfish. The shank had very little flavor and the swordfish was really overcooked.
Will definitely NOT GO BACK!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You got me once, You'll never get me again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I tried Spartacus in Durham,NC. On June 30, 2013.
Lets see, the food was not good. By this I mean, the hot items were room temp and dry.
I didn't like the buffet setup at all, the warmers were not functioning correctly and the food overall tasted sub par.
I ordered iced tea and for some reason the waitress only servered me sweet tea(no ice).
Not to meantion, the price for buffet and a sweet tea was $19.00.
I will never go back and never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We dined here as a party of six and had a wide variety of dishes: soups, salads, appetizer platters and entrees. Every single item was tasty and well-prepared. The service was prompt and extremely courteous, and the decor was pleasant (the dining room has a pleasingly austere quality without too much detail).
I would definitely visit Spartacus again; we were very pleased.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Letdown from Livingsocial”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We headed over to Spartacus when I snagged a Livingsocial deal, but it ended up being a disappointment. I do want to say that the service we had was reasonably nice -- our waitress was kind and attentive without being in-your-face. The first issue we ran into was the atmosphere: for a restaurant that calls itself "Greek," it could be anything, with stark white walls and random oldies playing over the speakers. We decided to eat out on the patio, though, and that was nice because it was pretty quiet.

Unfortunately, the real letdown was the food. For fifteen dollars a plate, I expect better-than-mediocre food. The Greek salad was decent, but the spinach dip we were given was green Ranch dressing, and the pita bread was definitely packaged. My mixed grilled platter had three different meats, all of which were overcooked and gristley. I bit into my pork and thought that they had given me flounder because of the strange taste. My boyfriend's vegetarian moussaka was made with sweet potatoes instead of eggplant, even though the menu said it would be made with eggplant. Overall, the real disappointment? A restaurant that calls itself "Greek" is about as far from it as you can get. The meal tasted more like Hoss's than any Greek restaurant I've been to.

While we really wanted to like this restaurant, it was a tremendous disappointment with service, the patio, and a salad as the highlights. I'm really relieved that we had a Livingsocial deal, because I would have been furious if we had paid full price for our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Thank you for an excellent dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I were in for dinner and we sat outside on their deck and listened to a guitarist play beach music (featured event) - great way to start the holiday weekend. ;) The greeting on arrival, food service and orders were prompt. The quality of food and beverage was delicious. The overall staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to others. We plan on going back and "hanging loose" (pun intended) for their upcoming event... "Hawaii Night."

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spartacus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Spartacus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spartacus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.