We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood & Yummy Sides in Durham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House

Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House
806 W Main St, Durham, NC 27701
(919) 682-0128
Improve this listing
Ranked #205 of 614 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Seafood & Yummy Sides in Durham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Finally visited Fishmonger's after living in Durham for 2 years and always wondering about the place. The decor isn't the best in the world so it left me wondering where the food would land, but I was pleasantly surprised. The mussels were outstanding! Fresh & the sauce they're sauteed in great. The calamari (one of my faves) was delish! All of our meals came out hot & were delicious as well, the food was fresh and the sides were great. Try the spicy garlic cabbage, its OMG good! Our server was very pleasant & eager to make our time here more enjoyable. Will definitely be going back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    32
    9
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avery County NC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food and we had a good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is not a fancy place...the tablecloth is covered with brown paper...the portions are large..we split a steamer with shrimp, crab legs and oysters....it was good the service was fast and food came out fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, ON
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“There's a reason for all the napkins on the table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

And that is the shrimp. With sauce and spice and butter. And so you can wipe your fingers off so you can hold your fork to eat the mac and cheese side. Leave room for key lime pie.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is not a fancy place with atmosphere. It's all about the food. All types of fish- broiled, steamed, fried, etc. You sit at long table and devour, as I did the mussels. Go for it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, NJ
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“fun and casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Enjoyed the fresh fish, salads and that great NJ sweet iced tea. This is a casual place with lots of brews to choose from, in the Brightleaf area just down the road from fun shops

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.