We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern bbq and great tea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Q Shack

The Q Shack
2514 University Dr, Durham, NC 27707
(919) 402-4227
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 614 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Southern bbq and great tea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Not much to look at, but the food rules. Good pulled pork but my favorite is the beef brisket piled on a baked potato. So good!!! If spice is something you crave than try their mac and cheese, as well is their deviled eggs. Tasty!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    85
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Brisket ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

So in line I asked the big guy in front of me what he usually ordered, he was right. Fresh BBQ Brisket carved in small slabs piled high on a plate, garnished with hush puppies and two ides. I had onion rings and beans, you can't go wrong there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“His & Hers Sauces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had an overnight trip to the Triangle and wanted some good BBQ. I'm a Texas sauce, he's all about the NC Vinegar experience. The Q Shack had us covered. While the onion rings are only average the BBQ was some of the best I've had - and I'm a BBQ fanatic. The Chopped Brisket was hot enough to grab my attention while the hushpuppies cooled things off enough to go back for more. The kind of BBQ that makes you wish you could move your flight and stay longer. He had the classic vinegar sauce on a pulled pork sandwich. Rated it in his top three. If my travels take me back to the area The Q Shack will be at the absolute top of my list.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD Q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wow I wish this place was in my hometown..Maybe be not, I would weigh 300 lbs! The food is great and the place is clean. The prices are all right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The ORIGINAL Q Shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The best of the Q Shacks, because it is the first and has the best BBQ recipes around. Especially if you have a craving for non-NC BBQ. They can accommodate that here, and it's delicious. Also, mac and cheese.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Q Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Q Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Q Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.