We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner fare +1” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elmo's Diner

Elmo's Diner
776 9th St, Durham, NC 27705-4803
919-416-3823
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Diner fare +1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

this place was cute, had the typical dinner appeal I was expecting, but also added in some more traditional seating feel, coupled with a menu that was a bit more modern and natural than you'd typically find in a diner. and they got beer too. I'd go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    121
    38
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could be what we ordered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Eating local can work sometime and sometime not. I ordered Chicken and Dumplings it turned out to be more of a chicken stew, not your traditional, this dish had carrots, celery, and peas. My husband ordered open face turkey, not enough gravy, turkey very dry. We ordered onion rings as an appetizer which was (in our opinion) the best part of the meal was brought out as the same time as the meal. The manager did comp the onion rings for this. I think I will stick to burgers and fries from now on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super cute diner with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The diner was adorable, breakfast was super good, and the service was great. The food was also really well priced. I loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cute breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is cute and charming, diner like environment with diner like food. Adorable atmosphere and consistently good. Great breakfast/brunch

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Inconsistent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Quality and quantity of food change from visit to visit. All of our party was done eating before arrival of the last plate with no apology from wait staff

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmo's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Elmo's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmo's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.