We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltbox Seafood Joint

Saltbox Seafood Joint
608 N Mangum Street, Durham, NC 27701
919-908-8970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great local fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you want fresh seafood with local flair and home style cooking, this place is worth a look. Take out food only, though can be eaten on site at a few picnic tables, is prepared to order. Expect to wait 20 minutes to order and another 20 for your food to be cooked. Just outside of downtown area proper.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel HIll, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top quality food cooked to order inside the shack, party atmosphere on the outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We came for lunch on a sunny Saturday afternoon, walked up the oyster shell path, and found a long line of people waiting to place their orders. It was a sociable atmosphere--everybody talking to everybody, with those who had eaten at Saltbox giving advice to all of the newbies. As the line progressed, Chef Ricky came out to erase the menu items that were no longer available. We were lucky to get to the front of the line in time to order an absolutely terrific lunch. Between us we got a Lake Trout Roll, an order of Crab Grits, and Home Fried-style Potato Chips with Peppers & Onions. Everything was delicious, and the Crab Grits were sublime--it was impossible to tell where the crab ended & the grits started--just a silky combination of smooth & delicious crabby creaminess.

Once you place your order, the chef cooks it up, and his friendly assistant calls your name when your food is ready. In the meantime, you wait out front with the other patrons. There are 4 picnic tables in front of the building, and people sit together and talk. Everybody is super friendly, and it's a really fun atmosphere.

This is not the place to go if you're looking for fast food or cheap food. Nor is it the place for an intimate, luxurious indoor setting. It is the place to go for thoughtfully-prepared, super fresh food, of excellent quality, served in a casual setting, cooked by a Culinary Institute of America-trained chef, who's been on Iron Chef, and who really knows what he's doing. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This little place is one of the best meals I've ever had at a restaurant. There is so much flavor in all of the food and it's clearly made with a lot of love. I was a little hesitant to spend $15 on a meal from a shack on the side of the road, but it was the best investment I have ever made. We will go back again and again. In fact, I brought my mom there again last week...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Too good to be a roadside stand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The food is 5 stars! Easily the best fried shrimp, coleslaw and potatoes I've ever had.
The chef knows his stuff.
I would love to have the recipes for all 3.
The only reason I marked it down one is for location and price.
This is a roadside stand with no seating. You order at a window and wait in the weather while your food is prepared. And the price for a lunch shrimp plate was $17. So by the time we ordered for 2 and had the amazing lemon punch (yummy) our tally was almost $40.
Despite that there was a steady stream of business.
Everything is FRESH and cooked to order. I wish this were an indoor sitdown restaurant. I'd eat there every week, but with it being outside, next time I'll wait for a warmer, less windy day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great takeout fried fish and oysters ate on trunk of car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went last week. Really cool shack off the beaten path in Durham. Menu on chalkboards, very easy. One board has fried fish sammies, the other platters. We got 3 platters. The fish is fried using corn flour not corn meal which is key. The fish is served over a non-mayo slaw that is fantastic and these wonderful fried potato chips and peppers. The tartar sauce has dill that I had to get used to but it was good. The chef is super and showed some of his raw fresh fish to us and it looked amazing. I'll definitely be back. Would be fun to get a truck with a cooler of beer and eat in the parking lot before a Bulls game or DPAC show. I put five stars next to bar scene because there is no bar so nobody has to worry about jacked up prices, u just pour ur sapporos or ur moet imperial in your Dixie cup for free. It is what u make it. Plus if youre into getting really messed up two or three blocks away u can get some great rocks or stamp bags. Heck where can't u, it is DTown. Don't worry it's totally chill in daylight hours, there's even a community garden across the street.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saltbox Seafood Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltbox Seafood Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.