We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watering Hole, Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull McCabe's Irish Pub

Bull McCabe's Irish Pub
427 West Main Street, Durham, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Watering Hole, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We enjoyed the shepard' Pie, The Cubano and the Early Grave along with local North Carolina beers. The Irish pub is modeled after a movie and has an authentic feel, very comfortable and enjoyable. Our server was pleasant and patient with our questions, requests for beer tastes since it was our first visit, but not for our son who is a grad student at Duke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron, OH, USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“excellent bar service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Good prices & excellent service. I wish we had tried the food here, it looked & smelled amazing. This was the only fun place open that we found on a Saturdaynight. The crowd was lively.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service and fun pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is in downtown Durham and very popular. It is a pub so it was surprising how good the food is and of course the drinks! Try the burger and garlic fries. We go at least one or two times per month. For excellent service, ask for Casey. She's worth a great tip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Love it - but (and this is a good -- no, a great -- but)...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Demand that they put the fried banana peppers back on the menu! They are the most DELICIOUS things ever. A reason for living. In Durham.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Better place in Durham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Pub is nice. Some nice beers and snacks. Not too expensive. The atmosphere was nice. Better then most bars at Main Street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull McCabe's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Bull McCabe's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull McCabe's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.