We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good Dogs"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Famous Hot Dogs

Jimmy's Famous Hot Dogs
2728 Guess Road, Durham, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: American
Description: This is their facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jimmys-Famous-Hot-Dogs-Durham/178354705579303
Restaurant details
Description: This is their facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jimmys-Famous-Hot-Dogs-Durham/178354705579303
Elkins, West Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Good Dogs"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had a good lunch 1-25-14 while visiting the area. Hot dogs were good, as were the slaw and onion rings - not to mention the banana pudding. Think the chili needed some more seasoning but the food 'hit the spot'. Would return again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST HAMBURG AND HOT DOG THE OLD FASHION WAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I love the place, it have brought back old remember, when I was in Jr High and High School. We would saved our lunch money so we could go to Jimmy's Dad Hot Dog Place and get a Dog for a $1.00. The price today is reasonable and the food is excellent and hot when serve. The staff is awesome also, the deserts are homemade and the lemonade too, just awesome place to go for a great Hamburger and Hotdog along with other items they have, Chicken Wings etc.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fun, old-fashioned place to grab a dog or a burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I love Jimmy's! You're always warmly greeted by the staff and your order is ready f-a-s-t. Everything we've eaten at Jimmy's has always been hot, fresh, and delicious. I've always felt that "the chili makes the hot dog" and in this department Jimmy's doesn't disappoint. They have been serving their hot dogs with this chili as long as I can remember and they have a winning combination here. They also have fresh home made cake and banana pudding and the one thing I have not tried are the wings, which I am looking forward to sampling sometime in the near future. If you're looking for a good old-fashioned hot dog, burger, and fries, you'll be hard-pressed to find better. Jimmy's Famous Hot Dogs is a Durham fixture, and a great family restaurant to stop and grab a bite - every time we go there, we even get a hot dog with chili for Mistletoe, our border collie, and she agrees, "Jimmy's rocks!"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Ingredients and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a hot dog with chili and was excited to see real hamburger in the chili.
I haven't seen that with most hot dogs. Fries were good and staff very helpful and friendly. Reasonable prices too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always good dogs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Love Jimmy's. Staff is always pleasant and the food hot. I still haven't found better hot dogs in Durham yet.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Famous Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Famous Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Famous Hot Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.