We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More condo than hotel, homey but not elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke Tower Hotel & Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Duke Tower Hotel & Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Duke Tower Hotel & Condominiums
807 West Trinity Avenue, Durham, NC 27701   |  
Hotel amenities
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“More condo than hotel, homey but not elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Duke Tower is a quirky place to stay -- an old textile mill converted to 1-BR condos which can be rented for either short or long stays. The units are clean, quiet, comfortable, roomy and feel like an apartment. There is a full kitchen. We stayed here while dropping off our daughter at Duke, and it was convenient (3 blocks to East Campus). Our unit had two queen beds in the bedroom and a long sofa in the living room which was adequate as a single bed, even for our 6-foot tall child. The units look as if they were built in the 80's, and are being updated bit by bit, so our unit was a mix of up-to-date and out-of-date. The only negatives were that the fluorescent kitchen light was harsh and the bathroom was small. The grounds are spectacular and peaceful -- large pool, blooming crepe myrtle everywhere, sculpture, shuffleboard, and a few mini-golf holes. This place isn't for everyone. They don't make your beds every day or have an elegant lobby, but it's a comfortable and peaceful alternative to a typical hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    34
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
21
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Duke Towers is clean, beautiful and has everything you need when you are not at home. There are lots of things for the kids to do like mini golf, chess, shuffleboard and swim in the big pool. All of the appliances in the kitchen were brand new and completely clean. They have ample laundry services on site. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They provide all essentials you need for the condo. Would love to go back and stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Duke Tower for a weekend while visiting Duke with our toddler son. It is fairly basic but more than adequate - clean and comfortable. It was great having a kitchen, and the location is extremely convenient. With a young child, it was very helpful to have a separate bedroom so we could close the door and relax in the living room while he slept. The pool looked better than expected, though we didn't use it.Prices are very reasonable. I will likely stay there again on our next trip to Durham.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife has brain cancer and we have been gong to Durham for 9 years. Just found out about Duke Towers and stayed there for a week. Great place, quiet, clean and very affordable best of the many places we have stayed in Durham.Would recommend to everyone..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I had found two hotels within walking distance of the local synagogue. I called and asked which was better, and they said to look up Duke Tower Condominiums - it's much cheaper. It also hadn't come up when I looked for a hotel. They were right. They do long-term rentals, and it's a ten-minute easy walk to synagogue, near Duke University, and in a nice neighborhood. The units are all a living room, fully-equipped kitchen, and a bedroom larger than most hotel rooms, with two large closets. Clean and well kept, with an old-fashioned key. All units face a courtyard, surrounded by rooms. There's a pool on one side of the tower in the center (which has a breakfast cafe downstairs), and shady nooks to sit all over the courtyard. On the other side of the courtyard is a grape arbor, a shuffleboard court, a walk-on chessboard with pieces a foot and a half high, and a child-sized 9-hole miniature golf course. The cost? By the night, $80 for AARP, plus tax. Weekly and monthly rates are lower. Their motto is, "You don't live in one room when you're home. Why should you live in one room when you're away from home?" I love it.

Room Tip: Choice between king or two double. The front and office side is where the parking is. The pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband was a visiting professor at Duke for a semester, and we needed a small, furnished apartment convenient to campus. Duke Tower turned out to be the perfect solution for us. The apartment itself (premium) was clean and comfortable and had an adequately equipped kitchen to accommodate real cooking over the four month period. Beds were good, and the unit had two flat screen TVs. The courtyard just outside our door was full of flowers, herbs available for cooking, and pleasant places to sit. The entire complex, including pool, was very well maintained and managed by friendly, helpful staff. What I loved most was the location: I could walk to downtown and to the sweet Durham farmers' market, as well as to Whole Foods, Northgate Mall, Birghtleaf Square, the Durham bus and train stations, and the Duke campus. Man Bites Dog Theater was just around the corner, and the beautiful old Durham Athletic Park where we watched free baseball was only a few blocks away. We rented a car only occasionally for heavy grocery shopping and more distant outings. I would definitely return to Duke Tower, and I get a little homesick just writing about it!

Room Tip: The "premium" rooms are more updated. I would also recommend ground floor for access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife was diagnosed with brain cancer in March '12, and we had to hastily prepare a trip to Duke Hospital for a 2nd surgery in April '12. The staff at Duke Towers bent over backwards to find us accommodations for our entire stay, and made the extra effort to make sure we could stay in the same room during our entire trip. The courtyard is the best part of the property- watching the birds fly around through the flowers and trees was so peaceful; just what we needed to recuperate from the surgery. The shuttle came in SO handy, and the shuttle operators were friendly and helpful as well. The beds were comfortable (memory foam!) and the kitchen had all the utensils and dishes that our family needed. Everything was clean and well-kept.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duke Tower Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Tower Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 807 West Trinity Avenue, Durham, NC 27701
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duke Tower is an all-condo hotel only three blocks from Duke's East Campus, 7 minutes from Duke Medical Center/West Campus, 1 minute from Downtown Durham and 15 minutes from Research Triangle Park.We offer a free shuttle 24 hours a day to East Campus, Duke Medical Center/West Campus, Durham VA Hospital and Duke Diet & Fitness Center, also stopping at the popular Brightleaf Square restaurant area and the Ninth Street/Whole Foods shopping area. An airport shuttle is available for $35/person, $5/each additional person.All suites include separate living/bedrooms, Tempurpedic mattresses, fully equipped kitchens, two TVs with cable/HBO, free Internet (wired and Wi-Fi) and free local phone service.Enjoy breakfast in the Historic Tower Cafe or rent one of our bicycles to tour Duke and the surrounding area. Each suite opens to a beautifully-landscaped courtyard, a large outdoor pool and the historic Duke Tower. The landscaped courtyard includes a giant chess/checkers board with pieces, shuffleboard, an arbor with seating and many other areas for relaxing and socializing.Premium Suites with wide-screen TVs, laminate flooring, upgraded furniture and handicapped-friendly bathrooms are available. Pet-friendly and smoking suites are available. Wedding parties, Duke/UNC football/basketball fans, parents and alumni are all warmly welcomed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duke Tower Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Tower Hotel And Condominiums

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke Tower Hotel & Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.