We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black House at Straw Valley

The Black House at Straw Valley
5420 Durham-Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707
919-403-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black House at Straw Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 653 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Rare Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you want to feed your palate and make it wish for more, Straw Valley Cafe in the place. For lunch or dinner, the chef's culinary intuitiveness as he combines textures and flavors, will leave you checking your date book for your next visit. Definitely a place for foodies and anyone that appreciates a good meal.

There were smiles on everyone's faces; from bartender to waiter, it is evident that this is not only a great place to eat, the people who work there enjoy their jobs which always makes dining more pleasurable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DURHAM
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A definite yes for those with a specialized palate! Wonderful food and atmosphere! Service was prompt. The scallops were delicious and to die for. Main course a bit pricey but well worth the cost. Plan for making reservations during the week and in particular, on the weekends. A must if you enjoy delicious food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Another gem of the growing Durham foodie scene and a place I'll definitely have to return to for the raw bar and outdoor bars.

We dined for the first time on Father's Day. The decor is done really well. It gives a modern feel but has some more classical tones. The best for me are all the outdoor spaces to dine or just sit and take in the ambience.

The service was impeccable. Just what you'd expect from an upscale eatery like this.

The food was amazing! I started with the oysters in a BBQ sauce. It was just enough to taste and not over power the oysters. Before our appetizers, the chef prepared a tasty tomato, chive and olive oil taster in a shot glass. Delicious. For the main course I had the lamb and my wife, the scallops, with 100 layer potatotes, squash medley and Hen of the Woods. The sides were excellent especially the mushrooms. My ONLY complaint would be the lamb being cooked medium instead of medium rare. I'm particular about my red meat. The mushrooms were so good I'm on a mission to find where I can get some and try my hand cooking them at home.

Dessert was just as delightful as the meal. Fresh pressed coffee, chocolate mousse and a custard dish. Well done.

The wines are available by the glass or the bottle and they have an extensive and well thought out list. You won't be dissapointed.

All in all, this was a top notch dining experience all around. I'd recommend it and will definitely be returning to try more dishes and experience more of the grounds. Great to have in our own backyard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslewis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Black House NOT the Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is truly a wonderful addition to the triangle dinning scene. The restaurant has atmosphere, a quaint interior setting although on a service road and a great vibe. The food and service were excellent, there were no mishaps or malfunctions here. It is to become one or our regular haunts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Foodie Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stumbled upon this place searching through Yelp. There were only a handful of reviews as it is a new place. Since the reviews were all 5 starts, we decided to give it a try - so glad we did! The atmosphere is super trendy with personal history related to the owners of the house. Cosy inside seating and several garden patios outside. The food was outstanding! Oysters and Antipasti were a great app to start off for two people (with leftovers). Halibut over rice with coconut curry sauce was perfectly cooked! The Paccheri Alla Bolognese was tasty, but could have had more pasta with the abundant amount of sauce. Both entrees paired well with a bottle of Amorio Malbec from Argentina. We chose the Greek Yogurt and Grapefruit Panna Cotta fro desert - yum! The staff was very professional and knowledgeable for "foodies" who prefer to cook at home. We will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black House at Straw Valley also viewed

 

Been to The Black House at Straw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black House at Straw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.