We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PART OF OUR TRIP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke Lemur Center

Duke Lemur Center
3705 Erwin Road, Durham, NC 27705
919 489-3364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 72 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST PART OF OUR TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was such a fun tour. I would love to go again. The staff was fun, and knew the answers to all our questions. We learned a lot, and it was so much fun to see all the different types. The lemurs are fun to see and hear!! This tour is great for all ages. I'll be back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“interesting & well-run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the lemur center is well worth a visit - the animals are clearly cared for well, and staff are very knowledgable. we visited on a 100 degree day, so the lemurs were not very active, but still very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lemurs are cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Noting the "poor" in my username: I got out to the center to find out it's nearly $20 a person to do the regular tour. That involves watching an educational TV special, then standing for over an hour to talk outside of about 5 cages and 3 indoor enclosures each with two lemurs (or some close relative), and then see you later. So if there's a better tour that involves seeing them more up-close or in a natural habitat, maybe spring for that one, because the standard visit didn't feel quite worth the time and money investment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Depends on the guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've been there at least half a dozen times; almost all of them were marvelous tours. The one that wasn't was with a boring guide. Unfortunately, there's no way to predict. And -- it might not have been bad that time if I hadn't had such great guides in the past.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“90 minute tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very informative, fascinating. My daughter made a power point to share what she'd learned with her class, and she remembered so many facts!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duke Lemur Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke Lemur Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.