We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Asin delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy China

Happy China
2505 Durham Chapel HIll Blvd, Durham, NC 27707
919-237-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 653 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Durham,NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Asin delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wonderful Asian food with ample menu variety . An informal environment with excellent service . All ages welcome. Easy to locate and park.
Able to order "spicy"-or not. Able to order as close to "traditional " food as desired. Noodles,fried rice,soups,vegetables ,fish and meats are outstanding. Prices are reasonable. Take-out service available.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the usual Chinese-American fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I like this place. Durham has tons of Chinese restaurants now, and most are at least adequate. Happy China stands out because it has many items not seen on the typical menu, e.g., crispy intestines. I am a fairly adventurous eater, so I like trying new things at this restaurant. It is all individually prepared with very fresh ingredients. The dumplings are so amazing -- homemade, not the typical frozen things. And when I ask for extra spicy, they actually make it as it should be. Oh, and parking is plentiful. A side note: the place is fairly empty at lunch time, but they do lots of take-out. Dinner gets much more crowded, but the restaurant is quite large and I have never had to wait for a table more than a few minutes.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Durham, NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The atmosphere is more modern than the typical Chinese restaurant in the area. Their selection of foods are great and seem authentic (admittedly, I have never been to China, but defer to friends more in the know). I especially enjoy the miso soup and dumplings. They have a full bar. If in the area and you are wanting Chinese, this is your best pick!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham,NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very nice evening at this very good Asian restaurant. We have been numerous times and keep returning. Quick, friendly service . Excellent food and reasonably priced . One of the most authentic Asian food restaurants in the area . Will accommodate special needs. A bit noisy but not bad. It does a lot of take-out service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant with great food! We've eaten here for both lunch and dinner as a couple and with a group and enjoyed it every time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy China also viewed

 

Been to Happy China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.