We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from a place with pedigree” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Uva Enoteca

L'Uva Enoteca
406 Blackwell, American Tobacco Building, Durham, NC
919-688-8181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expected more from a place with pedigree”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Met friends for a celebratory dinner at L'Uva. The restaurant was much smaller than I had imagined with tight seating. The artisan bread was both fresh and warm, giving me the impression that all would be good. We had a variety of appetizers, none particularly memorable, but all very tasty. What was disappointing was the main course. My husband had the osso bucco, which was over salted. I had the crab-stuffed flounder special, which had undetectable levels of crab stuffed into an overcooked piece of fish - all served over a plate full of navy beans, which were at least tastier than the fish. We had a great time with our friends, so it's too bad the food didn't measure up to the company.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were visiting the area and wandering around looking for a nice place to eat- when we first saw the restaurant we were told they were full and were disappointed, they then offered us a seat outside the restaurant in the mall area but we declined as it did not look inviting. As we stood around trying to decide what to do a very nice man came out and said a some people were leaving and we could have the table- we happily took it. The restaurant was indeed filled the whole time we were there. The service was wonderful and the food was excellent. I did not get chance to writ this review in mid- December when we ate there (now mid feb) so I cannot remember exactly what we each had,but everybody loved their appetizers, main course and a shared dessert. We could not have been more pleased with our overall experience. Prices were good and although we don't live in the area, we would recommend highly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing experiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

For such a small area this place packed a punch. The food was amazing, and the wait staff was very attentive. We decided to come here, before going to a play at DPAC. This was an incredible spot to have an amazing meal. When we made the reservation we said we were going to a play, and the wait staff made sure that we were out on time. This was a busy night for them and the food and staff did not appear that the rush of people was too hard for them to keep up with. The special was amazing and the prep work and staff made the night an even better experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rustic Italiano...Simple, Flavorful, & Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I'm so glad we chose this spot for lunch. The food and service were spot on. Nothing complicated just quality ingredients done well the way I like my Italian food. Presentation of the food, the space, and overall ambiance were perfect a lunch date. A bottle of wine on a sunny day made for a nice time. We'll definitely be back for dinner to try the braised beef cheeks!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the finest Italian restaurants in the Triangle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I dined at L'Uva last night before the Willie Nelson concert and thoroughly enjoyed it. The pastas and bread are all homemade, the presentations are wonderful, and the service is excellent. We'll definitely be back and highly recommend L'Uva to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Uva Enoteca also viewed

 

Been to L'Uva Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Uva Enoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.