We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1542 North Gregson Street, Durham, NC 27701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Sterling Heights, MI, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you are planning to visit the Research Triangle, Duke University or Durham, this hotel is one to strongly consider. The location is off I-85, just north of downtown Durham. Great rooms, staff and facilities. One of the best breakfast rooms I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Thomas N,

Thank you for reviewing our Hampton Inn & Suites and we're very grateful for your recommendation and high ratings. It's also great to hear you love our complimentary breakfast and find our guest service exemplary! Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    99
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
173
62
27
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a great location off the highway. There's a mall nearby that looks decent although I didn't visit it. Here's what could be better: the fitness room is very very hot. I know you want to sweat during your workout, but between the bright lights (I couldn't find a switch to turn them off) and the sun beaming into the room, it was sauna hot. And there's no way to control the temp and no ceiling fans or fans built into the machines. That being said, the equipment was decent for a quick cardio and weights workout. The water tank was welcomed to fill my bottle, but the water was warm. Sigh... The breakfast was had good options. The oatmeal was really good. Just bring your own cinnamon if you like that on your oatmeal. The complimentary coffee/hot water for tea in the lobby is welcomed but the staff needs to keep a better eye on the levels. The toilet paper is bad... one-ply/super cheap. Bring your own Charmin (or maybe hotel can upgrade?). The rooms should be stocked with more than two towels, wash cloths and hand towels - especially when there are more than two guests registered. Even though the hotel is right off the highway, you really don't hear the cars and the walls aren't super thin. The environment is perfect for a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevator/vending. Ask for extra towels. There are refrigerators and microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear zumbarita,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel. While I'm glad you had a good stay overall, I do apologize for the aspects that fell short of your expectations and will pass all of your feedback onto our team for further discussion - we want all of our guests to enjoy their workouts! If you'd like to speak about anything further, please give me a call at the number below. Otherwise, thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you the next time you're in Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro area
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent one night here in a King bed room. Hotel location is good, right off the highway and near a shopping mall. Room was clean and had the typical furnishings. Bed was comfortable and pillows were soft. Bathroom has a full shower instead of a tub. No problems or issues here. Breakfast seating area is nicer than most Hamptons, large roomy area. Typical food served. A restaurant called Tripps is a very short walk from the front parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear mkjbs,

We appreciate you writing about your stay at our Hampton Inn & Suites and are happy that it was a good one! I'm glad to read you enjoyed many of our amenities as well as the spaciousness of our breakfast area. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you for another stay soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I went to Duke, and wanted to stay with my buddy near Duke for a hoops game we went to. Staying at the Hampton puts you near campus, near Northgate, and near i-85 if you want to drive to other places.

Nice breakfast and wonderful clean rooms. Better than other hotels I've stayed in near Duke, other than the Washington Duke Inn, which is THE place to stay if you are not paying....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Marc S,

Thanks for the review and I hope you had fun at the game. I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable, clean stay and liked our complimentary breakfast. Thank you for the high ratings and recommendation and we hope to see you the next time you're in town!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Another great hotel so convenient to things in Durham, especially the hospital. The staff was great and accommodating and the breakfast was a well-rounded meal every day with plenty of diverse items. I recommend this hotel whenever staying in Durham and especially if you have loved ones having to go to Duke Medical Hospital. The distance is only 2.4 miles and the roads have hardly no traffic to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Gregory S,

Thanks for staying with us again and I'm glad to hear your recent visit lived up to your expectations. We really appreciate your 5-star ratings and can't wait to see you the next time you're in Durham! Thank you again for writing.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was so impressed with the Hampton Inn. Everything was immaculate. The staff was friendly and helpful. The access to the internet was easy. The complimentary breakfast had a lot of variety so I was able to stick to my diet. The room temperature was easy to set and it was quiet. I loved the granite/marble in the bathroom. Everything was upscale and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Harold H,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and for your kind words! I'm delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed the variety of options of our complimentary breakfast. We are grateful for your high ratings and look forward to your next stay with us! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Was in Durham for an appointment at Duke Medical. Did not know until check in that the hotel offered a special rate for those coming to Duke. That was a nice surprise. The staff was very courteous and professional in all areas. The hotel was clean, comfortable and up to date.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Pam S,

Thanks for your review - I'm happy to hear you had a clean, comfortable stay and hope all went well with your appointment. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Address: 1542 North Gregson Street, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.