We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Night Guy RUDE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1542 North Gregson Street, Durham, NC 27701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Front Desk Night Guy RUDE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Beware of booking a room online here, the front desk guy here at night named " Alex " claimed that a reservation wasn't made even though we had a confirmation number and our credit card was charged. He was extremely unprofessional, cussed at us as we were checking in and then proceeded to allow another guest to join in the conversation. I will never book a room here again or have my friends and family stay here.
ON a good note, the general manager Wendy is a very kind person who tried to work with us, and after the unprofessional attitude of her front desk guy we decided to not stay but thanked her for her professional attitude. Maybe if he gets fired we will stay there, until then NEVER!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Tara L,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you faced while staying at our hotel. What happened is indeed unacceptable, but I would like to stress that this is not at all a normal occurrence and that we have addressed your concerns going forward. Thank you for the kind words about our General Manager, Wendy, who always works her hardest to provide great customer service.

I apologize again and hope that you will consider us during your next trip to Durham.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    99
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
173
62
27
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We picked this hotel for some people staying here to be close to the hospital when they had a family member in a local hospital. They made numerous positive comments and said the rooms were fantastic. They said they would definitely love to stay here again, under better circumstances, of course. The food was excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I travel some for business and stay in a number of hotels in the same general league as Hampton Inn. This is the nicest I've stayed in. It is a very new property, very clean and modern. The bathroom was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the heating and air worked well. The breakfast area was by far the nicest I've seen for a free breakfast. The food was better than most, although not great - but hey, it was free! With the approaching holidays, business travel to this hotel is down, and so are the prices. So it's a great time to stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel is new, rooms are clean and everything works. Staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Free breakfast was of decent quality if not extravagabt and location right off 85 and across the street from a mall is very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here during Thanksgiving and found it a quiet, comfortable hotel. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Everything worked well in the bathroom. My husband said the breakfast was good, but I don't eat breakfast, so I don't know the details on that. They also serve free hot coffee, hot chocolate, and tea by the front desk all day. At night they bring out free cookies too. My daughter especially enjoyed the hot chocolate and cookies. The pool is small and a bit too cold for my taste, and right next to it is the exercise room which was had about three treadmills, two elipticals and two bikes. My only complaint with the exercise room is that the temperature was too hot and it was a bit stuffy. A few degrees cooler would really help. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the location was great... walking distance to restaurants and the mall. Overall, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel was the nicest Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. It was very clean and well appointed. The pool and exercise room were very nice. We had a King suite on the first floor which I thought might be a little noisey but was not at all. The room had a great layout and was very comfortable. The morning breakfast was very good with hot items and waffles. I wouldn't recommend the eggs though as they seemed mixed from a box or something and chopped into small BB sized pieces. The only complaints I have is the towels in the room aren't the quality you might expect with such a well appointed hotel, they were the type you might get at a Super 8. The other thing is the walls aren't very sound proof and you hear the showers and TV's from other rooms. All the staff we interacted with were all very nice and polite. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely stay there again if we were in the Raleigh-Durham area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

In town for a wedding so we got to check out a few of their rooms. Suites seem to be the -25 rooms. We were in 425 and it was a huge room with 2 double or Queen sized beds and a fold-out couch. Faced the highway but that was not loud or bright - good curtains in the room. One mattress seemd a bit soft for our backs, but the other bed/mattress got no complaints. The handicaped accessible room 216 on the second floor had a reg tub which did not work for my relative who specifically asked for a handicap accessible room. 216 faces the front of the hotel, and it's window looks at the back of the hotel's front entrance facade. 216 has grab bars thru-out the bathroom and wide space thru-out the room, but the tub was a problem. On the first floor facing the back of the hotel/ the highway is room 125 ~ a suite with no tub! Why the staff didn't put the requested handicap accessible person in the room with no tub was confusing to us.... maybe because it is a suite instead of a reg room? Would have been nice if the reservations folks or staff had asked some Qs before assigning the rooms as they did. Also facing the front of the hotel is Suite 325 with a King sized bed ~ a smaller suite space than we had in room 425, but still a lovely room. All all rooms had a mini-fridge and microwave with a sep sink area (with a large mirror - very nice for multiple people getting ready at the same time). The biggest complaint from our room was that the light switch for the bathroom is outside of the bathroom before you enter ~ frustrating when you want to use the facilities at night but don't want to wake everyone else. Were a bit disappointed that the pool was small and not as warm as we would have liked, but the hotel's location (proximity) was perfect for our needs. Might be nice if there was either public transportation or a shuttle to/from the airport, but the breakfasts were yummy, fresh and well maintained by very nice & helpful staff ~ in fact all staff we met were wonderful. Tripps across the street was good and we loved that Tripps and the mall were close enough to walk to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Address: 1542 North Gregson Street, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.