We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal & great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dame's Chicken & Waffles

Dame's Chicken & Waffles
317 W Main St, Durham, NC 27701-3215
919-682-9235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 637 restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meal & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited Dame's Chicken & waffles downtown Durham on last evening for dinner and was seated immediately and food was served to us in under 15 mins! Everything was great. Atmosphere was good and wait staff were very friendly and attentive to be sure we were well taken care of! I ordered the Carolina Cockrell with a side of grits and it was delicious! While we sat and waited we also saw they sign at reservations can mp be made 24 hours in advance. Price for our 2 meals was right under $25! So if you are looking for gourmet waffles and chicken along with other sides and dishes... This is the place to visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    53
    30
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Favorite meal I had on our NC tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I traveled across North Carolina last week and visited a lot of well rated tripadvisor restaurants. So many of them are great but none was more memorable than our visit to Dame's Chicken & Waffles.

The chicken was delicious and the waffle with the "schmear" of your choice was so original and so good. If I could take one restaurant home with me from NC, it would be this one. Awesome. Try the Sweet Potato waffle with Vanilla schmear. Wow. And don't underestimate the chicken.

Last thing: Go very hungry. We were so stuffed and could not even finish our meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, horrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 6 with a reservation. They will not seat you unless your entire party is there. 5 of us were inside and 1 person was parking the vehicle because it was raining. They actually let us sit but wouldn't even take our drink order because it was "too hard" to put that order in first without everyone there. Once our sixth diner sat down (a whole 3-4 minutes later) we waited an additional 15 minutes for our drink order to be taken. Among other things we ordered a bottle of red wine. The waitress brings over a bottle of white. We told her that was not what we ordered and pointed it out on the menu. She then brings over an already opened bottle of red. We pointed that out to her and she said "no, it's full". We told her we wanted an unopened bottle. So we see her go behind the bar and try to open another bottle of WHITE! She can't get it so goes to the kitchen. At this point I get who I assume is a manager since she's sitting at a back corner table doing business like things. I ask her to please just get us the right bottle of wine and an opener. She showed the girl the right bottle and we opened it ourselves. The food is amazing. The chicken is perfect on the outside-crispy not oily as well as perfect on the inside-moist and tasty. The waffles are light and fluffy. If you want great comfort food go here. Just don't expect good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always think of the Ludacris album...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Love this place. A Durham original. Sometimes a wait on the weekends but always worth it. I always get the clucks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“After waiting for 40 minutes to get a seat we had to wait forever to get our food, and wasn't worth it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped in and got on the list for a seating (a Sunday afternoon) and it was crowded with many people waiting. Once we got seated (at the bar) it took quite awhile before anyone waited on us. The waitress was helpful answering our questions about the food, but after taking our order she ignored us for close to an hour before we got our food. My order of "Quilted buttercup" was well prepared, but husbands "Frizzled Fowl" was way over cooked & salty and the waffle was way undercooked. We were more than halfway through our meal when our sides were delivered (salad and steam broccoli). People had recommended this restaurant to us but we will not be recommending here to anyone...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dame's Chicken & Waffles also viewed

 

Been to Dame's Chicken & Waffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dame's Chicken & Waffles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.