We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an OK hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel Durham to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel Durham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC 27705-4479   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Potomac
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It is an OK hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The outside looks great . Go to my room, it is large . Bed is neat . It has the hotel smell for 3 stars hotel . A few night is not bad . Free wireless internet . NO free breakfast . The hotel is very close to Duke and close to highways . For the standard rate $143 a night , I prefer to stay home .

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    123
    101
    89
    64
See reviews for
144
58
62
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel fails to meet current minimum hotel standards: lack of basic complimentary breakfast; outdated decor, low-quality bath amenities, marginally clean interior; poor placement of fitness area in the same area as indoor pool; smoky rooms/hallways; lack of complimentary toothpaste/toiletries (even lower-class motels have these items); had to wait over 45min for shuttle pickup (called multiple times -- rude/surly phone response, unacceptable service!!!); food prices too high; poor parking security (colleague's car window smashed and items stolen while parked in front of the hotel).
Overall grade: D+
Avoid the Millennium; stay in the Washington Duke Inn for the same price, but get a better value. Decent proximity to Duke University, but poor shuttle service decreases value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

This older property is located in a so-so area on the western outskirts of town. As other reviews have noted, there is little to no cellphone service in the rooms, but this was really the only problem. The hotel is showing its age: the carpeting in the stairwells needs replacing, the HVAC is noisy, and the interior courtyard looked pretty scruffy. Still, for the $59 that I paid (before taxes), it was fine. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the check-in and check-out were quick.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed at this hotel, as it was the recommended hotel for a wedding we attended on Duke campus. Location wise it was fine, close to some sights, attractions, and the wedding itself. I booked thr room though priceline and got a rate of $70/night. If I had paid anymore I would have been very updet. The hotel looks pretty decent from the front, and the lobby is nice, and everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely friendly. The room, though large, was so very old and tired, and a complete let down. The gym had 2 treadmills and 2 bikes. Essentially, the hotel was little better than a roadside holiday inn, and certainly nowhere near the 4 stars I was told it would be. Of the choices to stay around here, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Upon reading many of the reviews, I was getting very much afraid to stay here. Booked two rooms through priceline at a great rate. I must say, this hotel is not as bad as many of the reviews suggest.

I would stay here in a heartbeat for the bargain price that I received on priceline (name your price)...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perkma, Hotel Management at Millennium Hotel Durham, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay here at the Millennium Hotel Durham. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. It is always our goal to use the comments that we receive from our guests to find ways to improve upon our level of service to our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owensboro, ky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Booked this room through priceline and was very disappointed when we learned we could not get cell phone reception anywhere in the hotel. We were told by hotel employees that hotel management had tried to remedy the problem over the years but there was nothing they could do. The room was clean but old and dated. The staff was friendly. Priceline should take this hotel off their list due to the cell phone problem. Many people traveling, like us, have children, elderly parents, etc...who depend on cell phone contact.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

No air conditioning in rooms. I checked several other rooms and they were all warm. The place looks like a really bad Holiday Inn after a three day crack binge. I was really surprised that Millenium allows itself to be associated with this property. If you like a humid room in a ghetto-like environment, then stay here. Bidding on Priceline will most likely get you this hotel if you select Durham. Use Hotwire instead or just ship visiting this very boring part of North Carolina and head to the Outer Banks or Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Durham

Address: 2800 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.