We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Foxed but still Desirable--Don't miss this deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel Durham to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel Durham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC 27705-4479   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slightly Foxed but still Desirable--Don't miss this deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed twice at this hotel and have been pleased with the value. The decor is a bit tired but if you can look past that there is a true bargain here. For patients at Duke Hospital, it is truly a value with the Duke Hospital rate and is within a 5 minute drive to the hospital and shuttle service to and from the hospital is provided. We stayed in one of the "pet friendly" rooms which is convenient to the exit and an exercise area. The rooms are clean and huge by today's standards. The hotel is quiet. Matresses are firm. The staff are the best and the food at the hotel is great. Duke Hospital Patients: Don't pass up this deal.

Room Tip: If staying with a pet, ask for a room close to Entrance D. You will within steps of an exercise are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHD205, Manager at Millennium Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you found our hotel such a good value. We are currently working with our corporate offices to help spruce up the decor. We recently added new TVs and upgraded our cell phone booster service. Steadily, we are making progress. We strive to provide top notch customer service. Thank you again and we look forward to being your host in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    129
    107
    94
    67
See reviews for
158
61
63
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm the coach of a middle school MathCounts team, in Durham for the NC state competition.

Because of miscommunication between our parents, we ended up one extra room reservation, something we realized well after cancellation.

I explained the situation to Jacqueline at the front desk, and she happily and efficiently resolved it, canceling our reservation with no penalty.

It was an excellent example of customer service, and we are most appreciative.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHD205, Manager at Millennium Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello, IvyDog Asheville! Thank you for your kind comment about the excellent customer service your received from Jacqueline. We appreciate our relationship with the MathCounts teams and we look forward to having you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

this was a nice hotel and a good value for a lesser price place but it really could use an update soon. the rooms are just a little dingy. the staff is nice and the location is great for what i used it for. i did it through priceline so it would not have been my first choice but as i said for the price i could not complain to much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHD205, Manager at Millennium Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Arthur, thank you. We agree that our hotel is a value for visitors to the Duke University area. We are working with our corporate offices to update the hotel. We've made some progress by purchasing 316 flat screen TVs and installing a cell phone booster system. We even squeezed in a parking lot paving project. Other hotels in our company are receiving updates now and we are looking forward to our turn! Meanwhile, we strive to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be your host on future visits to Durham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Moral qualities distingusishes this hotel staff. I too am diappointed in the internet fee. But the integrity of the staff makeup for this fee. Perfect for Duke visits. On some trips our grandchildren visit, and enjoy the pool, whirlpool. On one visit their bathing suits were wrapped in a wet toel, put in laundry by mistake, two to three housekeepers spent over an hour, going thru the laundry to find those suits! My daughter inlaw was indeed very grateful. On our very last visit the O2 was delivered to hotel, but no reservation for us Ratechia Percell called me at home, to inquire, Which I was thankful for, I was able to register, stop a delay.

Room Tip: On our return trip, I am greeted in the lobby, with a hug and genuine smiles from Ratechia Percell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHD205, Manager at Millennium Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Alice, you have identified one of the main reasons we continue to rank high in our company's customer service ratings: Ratechia. She is a true hospitality shining star. We are pleased to know that our housekeeping staff also went the extra mile for you. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fabulous-looking in the front, shabby in the back.- Internet service on the 2 machines just off the lobby was non-existent; the machine are about 8-10 years old and still running IE6, but that's no excuse for service worse than dial-up. Nothing would load. For one night, we did without rather than pay for internet service. - After checking in around 5 PM last Friday, we noticed a room service tray on the hall floor across from our room. It was still there when we left the next morning at 9:30. What does that say about service? - Cell Phone service did not work in the room, only the lobby and outside (AT&T). - Room was OK, a bit run down, strange furniture placement, could use tables on both sides of the beds. There are plenty of other reviews that comment on the old decor, and they are accurate. Interior room overlooks a mangy-looking courtyard. Beds were uncomfortable, too hard. Pillows of 2 sizes, one too small (about 10 inches square), the other too large (about 2 feet square) didn't help with comfort. Bathroom didn't have a real exhaust fan, steamed up very quickly. Heater unit was hard to control; thermostat is marked only 'warmer' and 'cooler'. TV service was limited, compared with others in the area. No refrigerator or microwave in the room, but you can get microwave popcorn in the vending machine.

Front Desk staff was fine, but we won't go back. One night was lesson enough. This place pretends to be something that it isn't.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here the last weekend of January on a visit to Duke. The room was great, the service very good , and the breakfast at the hotel was very good, if a bit expensive. The hotel checked our bags for us all day while we were at the University. The only downside was that there was a fee for internet!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for it's proximity to Duke campus and friends. The room was fine though the stopper in the bathroom was discolored and did not work. The exercise equipment near the pool was visibly rusty and the weight markings were all worn off forcing you to guess. I got in the whirlpool and got right out when I saw debris swirling by. I ordered a beer with lunch and was told it was not served until dinner. However the waitress did go so far as to get dispensation from the manager to providebee a beer. When our room was cleaned they did not replace the coffee supplies. When I asked for some it required a search and rescue party to obtain. Coffee is available in the lobby during a small window in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Durham

Address: 2800 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.