We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Durham
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Everything at this hotel is reasonable - cleanliness, room comfort and price. Nothing stands out as particularly good but nothing to complain about. The rooms are a bit dated and show wear and tear;in need a facelift, especially the bathroom. The local area is a little bleak and there aren't any good restaurants close by, but plenty of cheap eats. The front desk staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Kevin, Thank you for writing a review about the hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us. As you stated we do have fast food restaurants around us. However, we are about 2 miles from South Point Mall. Which does have a lot of restaurants to choose from . Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    4
    6
    10
See reviews for
15
6
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a one night stay for a meeting in the Durham, NC, area. The hotel and room were very clean and the room had a kitchenette in it. The front desk was never manned, but the front door required your key for entry after dusk. The kitchenette was stocked with utensils and pots and pans and a coffee pot. The pillows were not the best, they could have been better. The hotel had no breakfast available, but had a pantry where you could buy food to make your own breakfast. Overall impression of the hotel was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of correcting the pillow issue. Our goal is to have two firm pillows and two soft pillows in every room. We do have staff here 24 hours a day. They sometimes are assisting other guest or folding laundry. They are only a quick phone call away to assist you. Again, thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

While our stay actually "in" the hotel was just a little more than one night's worth of sleep, this Candlewood Suites hotel certainly will be on our list again if we are in the area.

The room was clean and comfortable and its location backed up to a nice woods area, offering privacy and extra insulation from possible noise outside.

The area is secure and requires a key to enter past dark.

Several restaurant choices are very close by and a mall with popular retailers, nightlife and additional dining choices are just a couple miles away.

I have only two minor comments that may would keep me from giving higher praise... #1 Some of the cabinetry and appliances are starting to show their age, but in our particular room anyway, they are still in good shape. #2, Even the one bedroom suite lacked a king sized bed, which was a little odd but doesn't seem to be out of the norm for this hotel chain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dan, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so grateful for your comments. We certainly understand your concerns on the furniture. We are looking in to make these updates in the next year. We do understand your concern for the king beds, however we only have queen size beds here at the Durham Candlewood Suites.

Our focus is to have a clean room with a friendly staff at a reasonable rate. I look forward to your next visit to Durham, NC.

Again, thank you very much for staying with us and for your Great comments.
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

There just isn't enough room on this site to write all of my positive notes and experiences about this CandleWood. My job takes me places for long periods of time away from home and my lovely wife. Soon after my arrival, The Director of Sales realized just how long I had been working on the road, She reached out to my wife to shorten the distance between us in the warmest of ways.

With that being just the beginning and to put this review simply ......

The Great Location, Clean Rooms, Amazing Management, Amazing Staff, Great Extended Guest, Clean Rooms, Secure Parking, Great Rates "CAN" and "DOES" shadow what is really magical about this place. The Entire Staff has Their Heart In It and It Really Really Shows. I recommend this CandleWood to Anyone !!!

Room Tip: There is no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Michelle is our DOS and does a wonderful job, as does our entire staff. We try to make all our guest feel as if they are staying in their Home away from Home. Thank you again for taking the time to fill out the TripAdvisor survey. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel and I will surely return here on my next trip to RTP. The staff went above and beyond to make me feel right at home. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were traveling with our dog, for the first time and visiting our family nearby. The hotel staff was so accommodating and welcoming to us AND to our dog. A great dog walk, bags provided for cleanup and easy access out to the grounds. Thank you.

Room Tip: The queen suite was spacious and my husband loved the easy chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
A majority of our staff owns and loves dogs. We understand that they are family too. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

i am presently staying here and all staff are helpful.charlene sauveur of guest services goes beyond her duties..always pleasant.and good spirits.shes always hard at work thanks for making my stay comfortable!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Charlene is a very hard working and we are glad to have her on the team. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

Address: 1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.