We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Durham
1 review
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel and I will surely return here on my next trip to RTP. The staff went above and beyond to make me feel right at home. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    4
    6
    10
See reviews for
15
6
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were traveling with our dog, for the first time and visiting our family nearby. The hotel staff was so accommodating and welcoming to us AND to our dog. A great dog walk, bags provided for cleanup and easy access out to the grounds. Thank you.

Room Tip: The queen suite was spacious and my husband loved the easy chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
A majority of our staff owns and loves dogs. We understand that they are family too. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

i am presently staying here and all staff are helpful.charlene sauveur of guest services goes beyond her duties..always pleasant.and good spirits.shes always hard at work thanks for making my stay comfortable!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Charlene is a very hard working and we are glad to have her on the team. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After a horrible drive through torrential rain, then to find out that Hilton had shifted my reservations by one day causing me to loose the entire reservation, I was so very happy to discover the Candlewood Suites. At first glance, the entrance is simple with a check-in counter like you would find at a cut rate motel. But then I got to my room to find a spacious room with full kitchenette. The air conditioner was a champ as it turned the room into an icebox at my command (love that being an Iowa boy) yet would quickly warm the room back up when I wanted to be snug for the night. The dishes were all included and were plenty for two people with a full size refridgerator, microwave, and stove top. I get into suites now and then and this one was in super shape. The carpet was a bit off and maybe because of the pet friendly part of this hotel. But the room was really clean otherwise and the bed was very comfortable.
For food and dining (and gasoline), these all (including a full size grocer, Food lion) are right down the street with easy access and I was only minutes away from my meeting in generally moderate traffic.
In any case, this place is much much better than the Hilton Garden Inn (where I lost my reservation at) could have given me. I heard later from others of problems they had at this Hilton, but that is another review in the making.
I will stay here again for sure no matter where my meeting is in the research triangle park area and even just as I am driving acrossed country as this hotel is easy access off of I-40

Room Tip: Check your credit card when you return home. But if there is a mistake, do not panik as the hotel st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently stayed at this location for business in RTP. Upon checkin, the front staff seemed overwhelmed with the people trying to check in. At bedtime, I noticed there was an insect or bug. I got the counter person to come in and see what it was. They couldn't confirm. The next day, the General Manager told me that it was bedbugs and that he apologized. Totally unacceptable and won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
John,
I do apologize for your concerns during your stay. Upon your check out we inspected the room and did not see any signs of bed bugs. However, as a precaution we did have the room treated. This is an involved method of heating the room as well as spraying the room. Once completed we did place bed bug detectors in the room for several days and no bed bugs were detected.
I also apologize for the check in process. We do strive to check all of our guest as quickly and efficiently as possible.
We strive for every guest to have a pleasurable experience when staying with us. I do apologize you did not receive that while you were here.
I would greatly appreciate you giving us another opportunity next time you are in the area. Please feel free to contact me directly at 919-484-9922
Sincerely
Jonathan Allard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have stayed at this property a few times and each time the wrinkles appear more and more. We were a late arrival and while the front desk people were friendly and helpful, the room was not much above a old roadside motel. Other rooms may have been better but in room 209: The AC worked intermittently, the shower head was barely functional, the cable TV fuzzy except for the moment just after you turned it on or were just turning it off. The walls and floors are insulated extremely well either. Thankfully we were just there to sleep and move on. I'll find a new place to stay in Durham next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear trisporter717,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. I apologize that you had some items in your room that were not working. Your comments will be looked into. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Knew me by name from the first day. Convenient location. Close to I40.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC

Address: 1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, NC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.