We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property, but a little isolated from everything but RTP.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4603 Central Park Drive, Durham, NC 27703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #10 of 67 hotels in Durham
FRANKSTON SOUTH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good property, but a little isolated from everything but RTP.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a good place to stay, long or short term if you are working in RTP. However if you want to explore the broader Durham/Raleigh/Chapel Hill area you really need a car as public transport is not an option. I stayed for 10 days with my family and while I was at work they were looking for things to do but the shuttle doesn't take you to the Malls or nearby towns and attractions during the day, so they were a little isolated as not much close by to do/see.
The hotel itself is very good, rooms were clean and roomy although the kitchen very basic, lots of services (providing breakfast AND dinner a bonus) and the staff very friendly and helpful, who in my case was important as they made my wife and sons feel very welcome and helped them enjoy their stay. Happy to recommend especailly if the purpose of the visit is working at RTP.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
58
12
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Let me add to the voices that support this as one of the best values as a place to stay in the RTP area. As you can pick up from the other reviews, or from the hotel website, the hotel has a lot going for it self: Free breakfast and dinner (Monday-Thursday), wine and beer with dinner, free parking and internet, and large comfortable suites with an ample kitchenette. It is true that dinner is similar to what you might get at a mid-level buffet where only one or two choices are available (i.e., don't expect it to be comparable to a place where you order from a menu), and breakfast is limited to a couple of main choices as well (e.g., a couple types of eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, and then different breads, juices, etc.). However, it certainly can get you by, and for most is sufficient.

The staff is generally very helpful (though there are not tons of folks on duty). They have a van that will take you to places in the area (and the airport). I have never been left high and dry by the drivers, either (i.e., they will be there to pick you up when they say).

It is right off the freeway, so it is easy to get to.

The one down side is that there is not much immediately in the area, so if you want something more for dinner, it really is a long walk or drive at this point.

Bottom line: when I go to RTP (which is reasonably often) and have a choice of place to stay, this is at the top of the list.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuites--RTP, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great place, rooms nice and clean, well setup.
Everything you need. the location is good for those working or visitng the RTP area.
Walmart close. The transportation is service is by far among the best I have ever seen, pickup drop at airport, work, restaurant or even to just go shopping. The transportation along makes this place great.

The only downfall is the internet, which in my mind is too slow to use.. which was a big problem for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at the Homewood Suites on 12/6/12 and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I was staying in town for business and the rooms were big, clean and updated. The bedroom is separated from the sitting space and kitchenette.

The bathroom tub/shower was old/out-of-date but it wasnt a big issue for me. It was clean and water pressure was solid.

Overall, excellent stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stay at this hotel at least once a year when visiting the area for business, usually for at least 5 days.

Always clean, comfortable, and well located, it provides exactly what one would expect from the Hilton chain, and is absolutely fine for a business stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed at this property the past 2 Labor Day weekends while in the area for an annual music festival, and it's been a good, if imperfect, option for my needs. This property tends to lower their rates for the holiday weekend in order to try to fill rooms during a "down" period (they're a business-oriented hotel and make no secret of that) and that works out very well for us each Labor Day weekend. I travel with a friend for this festival and a 2-bed, 2-room suite here is great for our needs...it's much more expensive to stay over in Chapel Hill nearer UNC where our festival is held, and the various accommodations over there are not as good as this property for the money. I would also note that the daily breakfast buffet here is consistently solid, the seating area roomy, and the attendants keep it well stocked throughout the morning. Finally, all my interactions with the staff and management have been consistently friendly and attentive...appreciated.

As for the imperfect: As others have noted the plumbing fixtures (tub, shower, sink, commode) are aging, and I've come "thisclose" during each stay to having to make the "phone call of shame" for a clogged commode, and I don't overstuff it...it just doesn't flow well. (Traveler tip: Flush in between each "step" of your output and cleanup process.) I'm also frustrated that housekeeping, while doing an excellent cleanup job each day, is habitually stingy with towels...they leave "just enough" for 2 guests to shower once each day, with no extras, and in fact have even shorted us on some days. Luckily I tend to look at the supply before I disrobe and jump in the shower...it would not be good to make this discovery after disrobing or already showering to have to make that phone call. This needs to be remedied. I would also be happier if the property had at least one ice machine...they've told me that with a fridge/freezer in each room they don't need to maintain any on site, but sometimes one needs more ice than just what the room freezer supplies.

All in all a good property and I will stay again as long as the weekend rates stay low, but that last point is a key caveat for my particular needs when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Stayed here when visiting a friend attending Chapel Hill. There is a free hot breakfast. The only issue experienced was the tub didn't drain properly and would fill with water while showering. I only stayed one night so I didn't report it until the morning when checking out. The house keepers should report these things to keep customers from having to experience it, but it didn't ruin the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Durham
Hilton Durham
Homewood Durham
Durham Homewood Suites
Durham Hilton
Durham Homewood
Homewood Suites Research Triangle
Address: 4603 Central Park Drive, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
#11 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle (RTP) hotel, located in Durham, North Carolina. Surrounded by the convenient facilities of Research Triangle Park, our Raleigh-Durham hotel provides easy highway access to Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary and Morrisville, North Carolina. Compliments of the Homewood Suites Raleigh Durham Airport Research Triangle ParkEach guest can enjoy the daily complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast and the Welcome Home® reception, featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (subject to state and local laws) while visiting this Raleigh-Durham area hotel. Complimentary local & airport shuttle service are included with your spacious suite. Welcome to your home away from home at this North Carolina Homewood Suites by Hilton airport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.