We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good leisure stay option for a non-business weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4603 Central Park Drive, Durham, NC 27703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #10 of 67 hotels in Durham
Biloxi, Mississippi
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good leisure stay option for a non-business weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed at this property the past 2 Labor Day weekends while in the area for an annual music festival, and it's been a good, if imperfect, option for my needs. This property tends to lower their rates for the holiday weekend in order to try to fill rooms during a "down" period (they're a business-oriented hotel and make no secret of that) and that works out very well for us each Labor Day weekend. I travel with a friend for this festival and a 2-bed, 2-room suite here is great for our needs...it's much more expensive to stay over in Chapel Hill nearer UNC where our festival is held, and the various accommodations over there are not as good as this property for the money. I would also note that the daily breakfast buffet here is consistently solid, the seating area roomy, and the attendants keep it well stocked throughout the morning. Finally, all my interactions with the staff and management have been consistently friendly and attentive...appreciated.

As for the imperfect: As others have noted the plumbing fixtures (tub, shower, sink, commode) are aging, and I've come "thisclose" during each stay to having to make the "phone call of shame" for a clogged commode, and I don't overstuff it...it just doesn't flow well. (Traveler tip: Flush in between each "step" of your output and cleanup process.) I'm also frustrated that housekeeping, while doing an excellent cleanup job each day, is habitually stingy with towels...they leave "just enough" for 2 guests to shower once each day, with no extras, and in fact have even shorted us on some days. Luckily I tend to look at the supply before I disrobe and jump in the shower...it would not be good to make this discovery after disrobing or already showering to have to make that phone call. This needs to be remedied. I would also be happier if the property had at least one ice machine...they've told me that with a fridge/freezer in each room they don't need to maintain any on site, but sometimes one needs more ice than just what the room freezer supplies.

All in all a good property and I will stay again as long as the weekend rates stay low, but that last point is a key caveat for my particular needs when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
58
12
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Stayed here when visiting a friend attending Chapel Hill. There is a free hot breakfast. The only issue experienced was the tub didn't drain properly and would fill with water while showering. I only stayed one night so I didn't report it until the morning when checking out. The house keepers should report these things to keep customers from having to experience it, but it didn't ruin the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and just like the first, it was a great experience. The staff was extremely polite, room was clean, and the price was right! There was plenty of space in the room with the separate living/dining area and bedroom. While not needed on this trip, the airport is 5 minutes away. Also only about 6 miles to major shopping and restaurant area. The evening reception which includes free beer, wine, and a meal is nice. The breakfast is a nice option if you don't want to find a local restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days with the family while I was attending some training in the RTP. We tried the breakfast and it was ok but nothing special. The evening dinner looked decent but we did not eat. Did enjoy the free drinks during happy hour. The rooms were nice with plenty of room for the kids since they had to bring the WII for entertainment. The pool area was clean. I would stay again. The only down side is that you may have to drive 5 miles or so to find good food. There is nothing real close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuites--RTP, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We're glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I"m happy to report there are several restaurant projects developing in the immediate that will provide more dining options. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We picked this hotel for an overnight stay between Greenville, SC and Annapolis, MD. The hotel was very nice and the staff was friendly. The room was nice and the separate living/sleeping area is nice for the price. I plan on staying here on my next trip to the area for a week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuites--RTP, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierport, MI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Room was spacious, bed was comfortable, bath was a bit dated. Good towels and FREE popcorn. Staff was extremely welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was another free ho-hum offering. High speed internet was not high speed. All was fine and price was right.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites by Hilton RDU/Research Triangle Park! We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback. Your kind words regarding our staff and facility are very much appreciated! I apologize that our High Speed Internet did not meet your expectations. We know this is an important component of any stay and are constantly monitoring the performance of our system. We have followed up on your concerns to make sure this was an isolated occurrence.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Ebersole
General Manager
nicole.ebersole@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First time that I've stayed at a Homewood Suites and was very impressed. Quiet, clean, comfortable. Very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuites--RTP, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review! We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the RTP area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Durham
Hilton Durham
Homewood Durham
Durham Homewood Suites
Durham Hilton
Durham Homewood
Homewood Suites Research Triangle
Address: 4603 Central Park Drive, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
#11 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle (RTP) hotel, located in Durham, North Carolina. Surrounded by the convenient facilities of Research Triangle Park, our Raleigh-Durham hotel provides easy highway access to Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary and Morrisville, North Carolina. Compliments of the Homewood Suites Raleigh Durham Airport Research Triangle ParkEach guest can enjoy the daily complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast and the Welcome Home® reception, featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (subject to state and local laws) while visiting this Raleigh-Durham area hotel. Complimentary local & airport shuttle service are included with your spacious suite. Welcome to your home away from home at this North Carolina Homewood Suites by Hilton airport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.