We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Only Burger

Only Burger
3710 Shannon Road, Suite 118, Durham, NC 27705
9199379377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 614 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Bangkok
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great Burger and all that could possibility go into it. We had beef burger and turkey burger with a variety of toppings; from fried green tomatoes, bacon, cheese to fries. The french fried and onion rings are also great. The sizes are decent, it can actually fit in your mouth. If you are looking for a good burger, this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“As Good As Its Press -- Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Only Burger has been garnering fabulous reviews by the press and customers since its debut as a food truck. I finally had a chance to eat at both the truck and the bricks-and-mortar location on Shannon Road. Like the name says, the menu is limited to, basically, burgers and fries. And that's all you need -- seriously. I was blown away by how good Only Burger is. The food is the big bite of heaven that everyone has been saying it is!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good burgers, fries, etc. but not quite great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

After all the amazing reviews here and in town, I had to finally try Only Burger. We went to the storefront location and I was happy to see they had a nice selection of Boylan bottled sodas. I'm a big fan of bottled sodas made with pure cane sugar - especially root beer and black cherry. I had the black cherry which was great. Now, on to the burgers, fries, etc. I found it to be rather pricey for a fast food burger joint. The double was $8. Granted it's a 1/2 pounder but still. It was good but as the previous reviewer mentioned the bun was mushy. I found my burger to a little underseasoned although the meat was very good. The fries are fresh thin cut fries. We also got the sample appetizer with fried green tomatoes, onion rings and pickles. I found the breading to be a bit much. Now, it may sound like a didn't like it but I did. I'm just pointing out the few misses that make it good but not great. I would still prefer Five Guys over Only Burger. Luckily, I have one closer to home.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SERIOUSLY THE BEST and most not be missed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

All their burgers ROCK! My fav is veggie, but do like turkey and reg burger as well. Gotta try the fried pickles. Fries were just honestly just okay but it is SOOOO worth the trip. I drive 20 min just for lunch!

Service is outstanding as well!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Frenchseashell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

There is no doubt that Only Burger is the best in town. I always get the burger, rare, with cheddar cheese, tomato, lettuce and mustard. It's juicy and perfect! The only issue I have is why do they wrap it in aluminum foil? Whether I'm there or take-out, the bun is always mushy and tasteless and somehow melts into the meat. I expect the bun to soften up if it's to go, but when I'm eating there, the bun comes out the same: mushy. You don't really get the taste of the bun. Perhaps if it was wrapped in butcher paper, it would come out better. However, when I crave a burger, that's the only place I want to go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Only Burger also viewed

 

Been to Only Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Only Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.