We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Slater Road, Durham, NC 27703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Newport, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Price and Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great price. Very clean. Bed was very comfy.Has beer/wine for sale in the lobby. Parking lot well lit. Pool was indoors and very clean.Toilet was very loud when flushed. Probably not want to fluse it while everyone is asleep unless you really need to or else you are going to wake them up. Hotel staff very polite.
Breakfast was not the best, eggs were cold and dry, ham slices were cold.

Room Tip: I do not think you will go wrong staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
37
19
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I believe this chain was intended to be trendy in it's design when originally built. However over the years the decor has held up but looks a bit worn. Spa tub at the pool wasn't working when we visited.

Room was decent with a pull out sofa and two double beds. not alot of space, I think too much is wasted on the desk and cooking area. It has a microwave and a small refrigerator. You would think that a room with two beds would be primarly used for those traveling with a family. They could have designed the room with two beds a bit better.

Rooms with a King have space, but those with two beds feel a bit cramped.

Not many local restaraunts to choose from. But they do have a well stocked pantry that lets you choose dinner, if you like to each frozen meals.

A good selection of beer as well.

Breakfast as buffet style and included in the price of the hotel. It was average and would do. Some healthy options and fresh fruit. i.e apples and bananas.

This stay was free on my points, but normally runs around $79.

This is not the best place in the world but makes do as a stop over stay. We have stayed here before on our way traveling and will do so again.

Room Tip: The we had room was on the side nearest the highway. We could hear some road noise, not bad but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

As a regular client of Marriott I want to share my candid feedback on this property. I stay at various brands all over, particularly Springhill and Residence Inn, and in my opinion this hotel is below the Marriott standard. To share some examples, the room had been smoked in and you can tell right away. Also the hot water is more like warm water. In general the cleanliness and condition of the room were subpar.

On a positive note, I will say the staff was very helpful. However, I will be making arrangement to stay at a different property for following visits.

Room Tip: Normally i like a low floor but here you will hear every footstep above. Go for the high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Fine hotel but please please just put coffee out. If you don't have it out all day at least put it out at 3pm. My company used to have lots of clients stay here but the lobby is unwelcoming for people to hang out. this hotel is in the center of the business hub of NC and business people like coffee. At 5 PM, coffee is no where to be seen and TVs are all shut off. Not looking for Vegas but stop the nicle and diming and liven it up slightly. The hotel is new and nice just get coffee out and become a normal business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

When they built this hotel, they most have used the cheapest materals. The walls are so thin. At night, one could hear the footsteps of the people who have the room above them. At one in the morning, you could hear people walking in the hallways until their doors are closed behind them. If they are your neighbors, you will hear them until they go to bed (hopefully, they don't snore). At 7:30 am, at was impossible to take a hot shower because there was no hot water. The internet connection was horrible. I travel Marriott all the time, but I will not stay at this location, again.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, and wear earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Let me say what a great stay we had at the Springhill Suites, on Slater Road, in Durham, NC.(12/14-16) The room was great, but what made the stay even better was Kim at the front desk. She was extremely helpful in every aspect of our stay. She went out of her way to assist us with directions around the Durham area as well as providing great recommendations for dining. She is a great ambassador for Marriott. We would definitely stay at the Springhill Suites in Durham because of her. It was a geat experience. We would definitely stay here again. A++

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel as it places you away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is located a little out of the way of our usual "next to interstate I-85" choices, but was definitely worth the few extra miles. We got one of the best values here we have had for a long while.

The rooms are basic and efficient; very clean with everything we needed including the kitchen sink (many hotels have the fridge/micro/coffeepot but fewer have a sink other than in the bathroom). My husband appreciated the extra blanket provided since he hates fluffy duvets and overstuffed pillows now found in most hotels.

Breakfast was one of best we've had although the dining area can be a little tight when full. The variety and quantity was great: eggs, meat, cooked oatmeal (vs instant), waffles, muffins, bagels, fruit, coffee, juice, cereals. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Can't think of anything they missed!

We would definitely recommend this location and will be trying other SpringHills in the future.

Room Tip: Although we did not ask for a handicapped accessible room we did have one during our first visit (ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park

Address: 920 Slater Road, Durham, NC 27703
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#21 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park located between Raleigh, Durham, Morrisville, Chapel Hill, and Cary, in North Carolina. Our suites feature separate living, sleeping and working areas with complimentary high-speed internet, mini-fridge, microwave oven and coffee maker. Unwind in our indoor pool or fitness center. Enjoy complimentary new hot and healthy breakfast options before you start your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.