We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NCAA 2008 Perfect on a Budget for RBC Center and Duke University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Slater Road, Durham, NC 27703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 67 hotels in Durham
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“NCAA 2008 Perfect on a Budget for RBC Center and Duke University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

So we went to make our second trip to North Carolina for NCAA basketball fever for March Madness 2008. My wife and I shared a king suite with a friend and we had an adjoining room with a friend and her son. Our room cost only $75 per night! This was an excellent bargain considering its location and the overall experience we had.

Our initial check-in was not as great but the service from that point on was terrific. At this value we were only expecting a comfortable place to rest our head for 4 nights. What we received was much more. Our room was comfortable and had 1 TV. Note that our friend and her son had 2 double beds and had 2 TVs. That suite cost a little more ($80 I think).

The parking lot was in terrific shape and everything in the hotel was clean. The breakfast area was small considering the number of people staying there. Many guests just sat at a table all by themselves and read a newspaper while people were struggling to stand and eat. The food was okay, but given the value of the room it was fine.

This hotel is very close to the airport if flying in. We liked the location to RBC Center and when I-40 was jammed we had easy access to alternate routes. We also easily found grocery stores and many places to eat. We enjoyed going twice to Duke including Duke Chapel for Easter worship. For shopping this hotel was very close to the Streets at Southpoint which was a newer upscale shopping mall. Lots of pkaces to eat. We ate at Champps and enjoyed watching basketball live on their big screen tvs. There was also a Starbucks nearby.

This hotel does not have many reviews, but I will definately stay here again when I return to the area. Oh, the pool was crowded with children much of the time we were there and the exercise room only had a couple treadmills.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — small breakfast area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
31
14
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We stopped at this hotel while checking out the Durham/Raleigh area. We were thrilled to get a room here for only $69 on a Friday night. When we entered the hotel, we were greeted by smiling faces and pleasant smelling candles, with the fireplace going in the lobby. We went to our room, and realized we had mistakenly been given a room that hadn't been cleaned yet (there was a towel on the bed and an empty water bottle) so we went to the desk to get another room. They were extremely apologetic about the mix up, and were in our new room within minutes apologizing again and they offered us 2 small gifts bags with goodies in them. I felt they went above and beyond for such a small mistake. Our room was clean, as was the whole hotel, and the beds were very comfortable. The linens were updated and very clean- and this is coming from someone who is picky about this. We got a suite for the price of a regular hotel room elsewhere, and it was nice to have a fridge in the room and extra space to spread out. We didn't see anything that really needed updating. The bathroom was also nice. The breakfast in the morning was the best one Id ever had at a hotel- and the lobby was packed- everyone else seemed to be enjoying it as well. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. Great value and a great night's sleep!

  • Liked — The comfortable beds with updated linens
  • Disliked — Nothing! We liked it all!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

On appearance everything looked fine. The hotel is in a nice area, its fairly new, the room was laid out well, and the front desk was very friendly upon check in. Unfortunately, looks were deceiving. My biggest complaint was the noise. All night long we heard the sounds of other guests closing their doors. I attempted to use the heat/fan to drown out the noise, but instead it blew directly on me and after a few minutes started making strange noises, so I turned it off. There should be a cover on the vents to direct the air away from the bed. In the morning after a bad night's sleep I realized that the way the doors work, you can't help but close them loudly. Our tub also had a stain that I am not used to seeing when staying at Marriott hotels. I won't stay here again. I chose this hotel to save a little money, but next time I will splurge to get a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

The place might have once been in good condition, but we found it to be old, musty, rusty, dusty, and scratched. The front desk staff was pretty friendly and there were various snacks to buy from the lobby. But it was overpriced, and the room was not in a good condition. We would NOT stay there again if we're in the area again.

  • Disliked — The horrible room condition. It's needs to be renovated urgently.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic weekend getaway. The room was nice, yet the furniture style was a little dated. Other than that, I have no complaints. It was very clean and the bed felt great! The customer service at the front desk was top notch, and the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Very efficient and modern elevators. The workout room contains a treadmill, stair climber, elliptical and a weight-lifting center. The breakfast was absolutely awesome! Would definitely stay again!

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — The outdated furniture
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Nice, Clean 2-3 year old Newish Hotel and above average, friendly front desk staff. The hotel will drive you to restaurants near the airport but you will have to give them a little notice as the hotel shuttle may be somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

I, my wife, and my 4 yo daughter stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting the Raleigh-Durham area. We wanted something centrally located, as we were visitng people all over the triangle, and this location turned out to be very good for that.

The suites were nice, though not particularly huge - on the slightly smaller side of suites, but still plenty of room. The bedroom and the "living room" were separated by an open doorway - there was no door between them, though. There was a small kitchen area. The cost for us was about the same as non-suite hotels in the area, and you certainly got much more than you would in a standard hotel. My 4 y.o. particularly liked the fact that we had a suite - talking about how we could eat all our meals in the room... The suite also made it easier for us to put her to bed a bit earlier (but a door to the bedroom would have helped even more).

There was an indoor pool and fitness center (w/ treadmill and a weight machine). There's also a Gold's Gym really close by. Internet access was free in the room, though not wireless. I really liked the breakfast - beyond all the standard continental stuff, they had make-your-own waffles, as well as eggs, sausage, and cheese that you could put together wtih the English muffins to make a "mcmuffin". The staff were very friendly.

The hotel is in a business area of the triangle, and though near I-40, you have to drive down a bit - it's not right at the exit. There aren't restaurants right there, but going a few exits down I-40 in either direction will get you to several (especially the Southpoint mall exit in Durham, about 6 miles away). The people staying there (we were there on a Satuday and Sunday night) appeared to be a mix of families, groups, and business travelers.

Overall, it was a very nice stay, and for the money it was an excellent value.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast, Room
  • Disliked — Hallways and elevators (but not rooms) were very warm (broken A/C?)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park

Address: 920 Slater Road, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park located between Raleigh, Durham, Morrisville, Chapel Hill, and Cary, in North Carolina. Our suites feature separate living, sleeping and working areas with complimentary high-speed internet, mini-fridge, microwave oven and coffee maker. Unwind in our indoor pool or fitness center. Enjoy complimentary new hot and healthy breakfast options before you start your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.