We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Slater Road, Durham, NC 27703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean rooms and nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We just needed a place to sleep for the night and this place is clean and has a very friendly staff. Prices were very good for the location and room amenities. Try to ask for a room that doesn't back the highway.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
37
19
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've stayed at SHS in Durham many times. Over the past few years they have renovated.

Front desk is aways friendly, accommodating and approachable.

The hotel offers a shuttle service, which is prompt and readily available regardless of where you need to go. (night shift not as friendly for some reason, kind of like your bothering her)

The rooms are fresh, comfortable, good lighting, plenty of amenities and the usual suite set up.

Lobby offers complimentary breakfast, computer area and small "market" as well.

There isn't a restaurant attached or in the hotel, and not a big variety of places to eat close by. But they will take you to a walmart or grocery.

The attendant in the morning is friendly, professional and should be commended for her hard work and consistency.

No outdoor pool or extras at this property, they do have a small gym and small hot tub~pool area that's well maintained and clean.

It's a great stay place stay if you're looking for a quite reliable hotel without a lot of action.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I drove from Wilmington NC to Raleigh-Durham for a flight. I parked my car and was taken immedicately to the airport. Perfect. A week later when I returned at midnight; I made a phone call and was picked up promptly and taken to the hotel. The hotel is true to the business model. Everything I needed for a restful night was just right. The next morning, I enjoyed something to eat before hitting the highway. I will recommend this hotel to anyone and will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel before. Great value for the money. Room and its amenities were excellent. Almost felt like home. Complimenary breakfast just enough to get you going for the day. Easy access to other parts of the city

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed one night in October 2011. Large room, large TV, large bathroom. Breakfast was good, but would have been nice to have eggs. Great whirlpool and pool (open from 6AM to 11PM).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here after arriving at RDU and didn't want to travel home. Check in process was very quick and the clerk was very friendly. Promptly got my key and off to room.

Room was very large and clean. I had a sitting room next to the bed area. Nice large flat panel TV installed. Bathroom was well apportioned. The HVAC system worked well, but was of the older style where you pressed buttons instead of setting a temperature on a thermostat. But the unit worked well and kept the space very comfortable.

Continental breakfast was what you expect for a facility like this. Remember....this is not a Ritz so you won't have the options you would get there. But you are paying 1/3 of the Ritz price here.

Bed was comfy and I received a good nights sleep. Speedy checkout and I was out the next morning.

Facility is almost finished with a remodel and it shows. Nice lobby, room was well decorated, and the overall building looked good. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was booked here for a week while traveling on business. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the rough edges are visible. I could live with that. Or so I thought.

The room itself was nothing special. Things seemed clean. The bed and pillows were not especially comfortable. I was disappointed that the television didn't have certain channels (most notably FX and AMC, so if you're a fan of _Mad Men_, _Breaking Bad_, _Wilfred_, or _Archer_, make sure you set up your home PVR before you travel).

Pet Peeve: no vending machines on the floors. You have to go to the first floor where they have a little "market" and pay the front desk for a soda or whatnot. It was $2.50 for a 20oz Coke.

The "high speed" wireless internet access maxed out at .35MBps down. Not good. Most hotels I've stayed at provided at least 1MBps.

The free breakfast was uninspired, the hot food being self-made waffles, eggs, something that might have been canadian bacon, and whatever you could toast. I found it unsatisfying overall.

I ended up changing hotels in mid-stay due to some chemical compound (paint? glue?) that was used as part of the renovation: I can home from work and found my room uninhabitable due to a thick, intense chemical odor that gave me an instant headache. It took a bit of argument but the Front Desk finally agreed to let me check out without paying for that day.

I got my stuff, got a final bill, and got the heck out of there. The fresh air improved my mood considerably, so I was smiling when I checked into the Hilton down the street.

So that was my experience with the Springhill Suites in Raleigh. You may argue that I simply had bad luck / bad timing, arriving while renovations were happening, and maybe that's true. But even before the chemical odor issue surfaced, all of the other negatives had convinced me that I'd never stay at Springhill Suites again. Especially in the Raleigh Durham airport vicinity, where it seems like you can't walk 100 meters in a straight line in any direction and avoid colliding face-first into a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park

Address: 920 Slater Road, Durham, NC 27703
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#21 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park located between Raleigh, Durham, Morrisville, Chapel Hill, and Cary, in North Carolina. Our suites feature separate living, sleeping and working areas with complimentary high-speed internet, mini-fridge, microwave oven and coffee maker. Unwind in our indoor pool or fitness center. Enjoy complimentary new hot and healthy breakfast options before you start your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.