We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Durham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Durham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Durham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2516 Guess Road, Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Durham
COLUMBIA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

This hotel is very adequate for staying while on the road. The hotel is directly on Interstate but was very quiet. Room was clean and neat and had a new LCD TV with lots of channels. It is not located in the best neighborhood but food sources are available within a short drive. The pool was large and well kept and refreshing. Bed and shower were Holiday Inn quality which is Good! Staff was very helpful and polite.
We would stay here again while traveling through the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
17
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

First time stay was 02/2010 and found the rate for 2 double beds to be a good value. As a Priority Club member, I found the room clean but the welcome package was somewhat 'lean' when compared to other cities.
I also thought it odd that it seemed that there were no rooms with king-sized rooms (non-smoking) on the property!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Second stay at the HI Express in Durham. The staff is very friendly and helpful and my room was clean. There are the basic amenities here, breakfast is included. Good location for easy access to highway and university. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Nice place w/ helpful staff and good rooms. Nothing great but worth the price for sure. Always clean. Lots of places to eat close by, I don't get the other poster saying there wasn't. No place to walk to and eat however.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Great hotel. Great staff and easy location to find. Breakfast was great and the service #1. If in the Durham, NC area check out this hotel you will like it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stopped at this hotel as my halfway point returning from Montgomery, Alabama to Philly. Hotel has free Wi-Fi, but my old win98se laptop isn't usable. I miss the ethernet cable! Business center is great. Staff is friendly. Location is just off of the interstate and food joints are plentiful...just ask the staff. Room was clean, had a small fridge, microwave and complimentary gift for the Priority club member. I always bring my surge protector in my laptop bag for additional outlets for my recharging needs. Will make this hotel a favorite on the sites.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Flew in to watch Duke basketball game and stayed one Tuesday night. Booked one double-bed room online via ichotelsgroup website for $94 night. Staff was friendly. Was told at check-in that I had reserved a room with king bed, but was quickly remedied by pleasant staff member I believe is named Gwen. Located right off the highway and easy to find. Room located on fourth (top) floor facing freeway. Did not have any problems with noise while sleeping- and I consider myself a light sleeper. Duke campus was nearby and drove through downtown to eat before the game. Property was probably on the older side as the room did not have a flat-screen tv as in other properties which was fine to me. Also bathroom had a chip near toilet paper holder and a broken tile in the shower ceiling. Hot water seemed to get hotter throughout my shower at night but that can be expected when it’s near 20 degrees outside. Took advantage of the complimentary breakfast in the morning which was served by a very friendly and professional female staff member. Enjoyed the free USA Today newspaper. It’s not Sunday brunch with omelettes made to order, but the eggs, biscuits and cinnamon rolls fresh out of the oven and apple juice were enough for this vegetarian to make it to the next meal. Overall a nice, comfortable stay where the friendly staff more than make up for what others may not consider ‘perfect’. Definitely hope to be back for a game next year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Address: 2516 Guess Road, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.