We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Durham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Durham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Durham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2516 Guess Road, Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nice airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was impressed with the large clean room with comfortable bed and quality linens. Room had a very large walk in tiled shower with bench instead of traditional bathtub shower. The complimentary breakfast is substantial with hot and cold items. I appreciated the free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear ReeSue,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our amenities and found your guest room spacious and comfortable, as well as that you liked our complimentary breakfast. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
19
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmer, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would NOT recommend this hotel. We got there after midnight for a 1 night stay & was still charged the full $100 & were stuck in a smoking room (thats all that was available). I wouldn't be so mad about that if the room was actually nice! The bathroom door didn't close at all, the phone didn't work, the room smelled like stale cigarettes & there was crusty stuff on the blanket. The people we were traveling with had to sleep on top of the blanket! Then the front desk said we should have told them & they could have moved us, but we were told at check in that it was the last room! How can they move us if there were no other rooms available?!? I will never stay here (or any holiday inn express) again & I would NEVER recommend it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kerry V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're deeply sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations and our team will discuss your comments immediately as providing a comfortable and clean room is one of the most important obligations to our guests. Please get in touch with me at the number below and I will be happy to discuss your stay further. Again, we're sorry for the inconvenience and hope you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to Durham to show how much we value our guests.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was convenient to a wedding we were attending. We requested an early check-in and they were very accommodating. It is somewhat smaller in size than other H.I. Expresses where we've stayed, and our room was smaller than at other similar hotels. However, it was clean and the service was friendly. The breakfast room was quite crowded over this Memorial Day weekend, and with only one elevator, we often had to wait more than we would have liked. The neighborhood seemed a bit seedy. but I would stay there again when returning to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear ellenbeepa,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express and sharing your feedback. I'm glad to read that you found us to be very clean and our staff friendly and accommodating. We also apologize that you had to wait for the elevator longer than you would have liked and I will pass your comments on to our team for further discussion. If you would like to speak further about your experience, please get in touch with me at the number below. Otherwise, we appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our family stayed one day/night at the Holiday Inn-Durham earlier this month. The hotel was easy to find off of I85. Check-in was quick and the room (king standard) was plenty cozy for us. The free continental hot breakfast was tasty and there was good variety I recall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear lewf,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I'm pleased to read that you found our staff very efficient and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, as well as that your room was comfortable. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit to Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

There's not a whole lot of options along this urban stretch of I-85 through Durham. The rooms are clean, the front desk attentive, the breakfast bar accommodating. Did I mention the fridge in the room? The place to stay on your Honey Moon.........perhaps not........but if you've got business at Duke University, or going to a game there and spending the night, then this place fits the bill nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Hugh S,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to read that you've found us a great place to stay right off the highway and you find our rooms clean and staff helpful. We are indeed convenient to Duke and many local businesses. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had reservations a another hotel which turned into a disaster. Plan B can be difficult when traveling with a little dog. The Holiday Inn was a great find. Although they do charge for pets, the rooms are terrific, well appointed, and very clean. No doggie smell or overly "fabreezed" scent. Look for Gwen at the front desk. She is extremely knowledgeable about the area and very pleasant to work with. We were in town to see the Durham Bulls play baseball and this hotel is perfectly located to the stadium and the warehouse district of Durham.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear NannieOakly,

Thank you for your review - I'm glad we were able to be there for you after your first choice didn't work out! We do indeed try to take care of our guests with pets and I'm happy to read that you had a great experience and hope you enjoyed the game. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for work recently and very satisfied with everything. Staff was very friendly and the room accomodating. I was given snacks and water during check in for my rewards membership. Nice love with coffee table to work at in front of TV as well as fridge and microwave in King room. Best part was the shower....the pressure was perfect...best shower Ive had in a hotel in a long time. The bed slept great. I will make this my hotel of choice everytime I am in Durham.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear TravisTompkins,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express. I'm pleased to hear that you had such a great stay and that we have become your hotel of choice in the area. Glad that you enjoyed our shower so much as well - I know I'm pretty picky when it comes to that and a great one is hard to beat. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Address: 2516 Guess Road, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.