We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sitar
3630 Durham-Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707
(919) 490-1326
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the best in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have tried many Indian restaurants in the Durham/Chapel Hill area, and have been pleased with some and disappointed in others. But Sitar seems to consistently satisfy our expectations. Good food, nice atmosphere, good service, reasonable prices. If someone asked me where to go for good Indian food, this is where I would send them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the Buffet at this, our first visit to Sitar. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming and drinks service was prompt. The buffet was well laid out and appealing. There was a mixture of vegetarian and meat, mainly chicken, with one shrimp dish, serving as the non-veg selections.
The desserts were excellent.
Overall, a pleasant evening and a meal that was good value for money

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dynamite Supper Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We typically order from the menu but went with the buffet and were very impressed. An excellent variety of meat and vegetarian dishes, salad, rice, salad, nan, appetizers and desserts. The only thing we ordered extra was the spiced hot tea. This is a must do again and soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Durham NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm no vegetarian, actually have been off and on on the Atkins diet which is mostly meat and eggs. BUT , I could eat most of my meals there because of the terrific way they combine their vegetables. Many are almost "stew", and they make mundane vegetables great with spices and combinations and cooking skills. I only go buffet because I can't remember what's what's and just put a tiny portion of almost everything, eat slowly and remember what I liked best, then go for seconds and get half as many choices but larger portions of those.
I eat out all the time but this is the only restaurant that I do this, partially because the owner who is a friend from my gym tells me none of his food is too "spicy". Easy for him to say, he is Indian and I'm southern. Grits with pepper is spicy to me. It's not cheap at lunch, I eat too much there but highly recommend that you do if you are in Durham, NC. Bob Ross

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great music, accommodating staff, spotty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

we ate in Sitar twice in the past several weeks, and enjoyed the sitar/tabla duo immensely. Our first dinner (generally, the buffet is our first choice) was excellent. On the second night, many of the dishes were over-peppered. We mentioned this to our server. Within a minute, the manager approached, apologized, offered to make any dinner dish we wanted, and did all he could to be accommodating to us. We could never quite understand what had changed, so this note is meant as a caution to readers rather than a kibosh on a basically-good restaurant.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar also viewed

 

Been to Sitar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.