We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Durham
New York City, New York
1 review
“THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We are currently on tour with a big splashy musical and stay in LOTS of hotels. I do have to admit that this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in on our journey. Aside from how clean and nice the place is, the breakfast is the best one we have had so far. The managers and staff has bent over backwards to make sure we are comfortable. They have kept breakfast opened later, been flexable with our crazy room rearranging and even set up a class room for the kids in our cast. Thank you Thank you Thank you! I can not say it enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello Jensen C,

I would like to thank you for your business as well as for taking the time to submit such a kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your group. You and your group were a pleasure to deal with and are certainly welcome back here again anytime should the circumstances arise. You will be missed. Happy Holidays to you all.

Ted Franzese
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    73
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
128
45
18
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The SpringHill Suites is in a very convenient location and we enjoyed our stay during Thanksgiving. The room was comfortable, although we were frustrated with the heating system (which had to be turned way up to warm the room) and I found myself at the front desk at 5am asking for more blankets. Took advantage of the workout room (two treadmills, two elliptical machines and some free weights - the bike was broken) and the breakfast was very generous, including hot selections. Close to the highway and lots of shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello funin61,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. We gladly accept all feedback, positive and negative, in an attempt to make ourselves better. I'm glad that your stay was overall a positive one. I do apologize for the problem you encountered with your heater. We certainly understand your desire for a comfortable room temperature. As for the broken bike, we expect a new one to arrive later today. It has taken a while to arrive since being ordered. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope we will see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the SpringHill for a weekend of football games.
Jonny's kindness and professionalism made our stay so much better.
With all my questions and my personal eating habits. Jonny went out of his way to accommodate my needs and it was greatly appreciated.

Thanks again!
G and R

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello Gina F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit such a wonderful review. I'm truly glad you enjoyed your stay. Needless to say I will be sharing your comments with Jonny as well as the rest of the staff. Jonny's efforts and your business are both greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've been based here for four months on a contract, and love the staff (Ted the GM, Ivana, Henry, Theresa, and the rest). The rooms are very upscale for the price: nice beds, great desk and seating area. Being a QA guy, though, there is always room for improvement. Here are two suggestions:
- Evening appetizers are screwy (meatballs, chips, and salsa? Muscles and cheese cubes? Hey, but I'm from California ;-). The bar and fire-pit will be better utilized with a better menu and jazz fitting the decor instead of TVs.
- The HDTVs are underutilized: only a couple of HD channels and no channel guides in the room (mostly Time Warner's issue).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello mfreedman3,

I would first like to thank you for staying with us for four months. Your business and your loyalty are both greatly appreciated. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We take all guest feedback, positive and negative, very seriously and many changes occur as a result of what our guests tell us. Perhaps our Manager's Reception food should be revised to a less "screwy" menu. We will certainly revisit it as well as your other suggestions. Thank you for the kind remarks about our great staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in October after another hotel cancelled my reservation. The rooms are clean and modern, staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and location was excellent for both Chapel Hill and Durham. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello AngelVal2012,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. Both are greatly appreciated. It's great to hear that you will definitely stay here again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel location is excellent. It's close to U North Carolina and Duke. Close to downtown Chapel Hill. Restaurants and shopping are within walking distance.The hotel is very clean and has a very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Cavins12,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. Both are greatly appreciated. It's great to hear that you would definitely stay with us again. That is certainly our goal. We hope to see you soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I should have written this review a long time ago. My husband and I stay here regularly. It has been our preferred hotel in the Durham area for several years when we come for Duke basketball games. It is an easy drive to campus, conveniently located near shopping and dining. But most importantly, it is consistently clean, bright and welcoming. I love that they have both foam and feather pillows! Beds are very comfortable. The staff is always friendly and willing to go the extra mile. We love the modern design and the amenities, and hope to continue our stays at our "home away from home" for years to come.

Room Tip: If you don't want to look at the parking lot, ask for a room facing the park in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello skippysand,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Being called "A home away from home" and your "Go to" property is everything we could ask for. I particularly appreciated your comments regarding the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.