We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served our purposes well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Served our purposes well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is located in a very quiet area. The suite was plenty large enough w/ two queen beds, and a separate area w/ a sofa and a small galley kitchen.

There was a mix up in the rooms/dates combinations requested -- totally our fault -- and the clerk cheerfully righted everything we'd done wrong in specifying our wishes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello C5Cye,

Thank you for the kind review, it is truly appreciated. I was especially happy to hear that our staff was able to accomodate you on the changes that needed to be made. That is certainly one of the true measurements on how well we are doing. I hope you will come stay with us again!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    73
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
128
45
18
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was a very nice, quiet hotel. While we were there for a family event, it is perfect for business travelers. Very sleek and modern, but best of all comfy beds and amazingly quiet. The check-in process was very fast as was the check out. There is a desk and coffee station in the room, and the shower/vanity and water closet are separated. The closet space is ample. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello CJVAL,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a survey. Your comments as well as your business are both greatly appreciated. Your remarks were very flattering and I will certainly share them with our staff. Thank you and come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Although brand new, very disappointed; this was the smallest "suite" I have ever stayed in. Other Springhill Suites have twice the square footage. Also, the room was very strange; it has a sliding frosted glass door to the bathroom (the room is to small to allow a full size door to swing open), which is ok except when you have to use it in the middle of the night and everybody else in the room wakes up from the bright light of the bathroom. All the rooms on the floor appeared to be exactly the same. The lobby, breakfast area, parking lot etc., were likewise under-sized. Also, the staff was not as friendly as other Marriott properties. Glad I was only staying one night; overpriced for value received.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello Steve60893,

I truly am sorry that your stay with us was not a more pleasant one. I am equally sorry that you did not find our staff to be as friendly as they should be. Your response will be discussed with all front office employees and hopefully will help us improve.

I am confused on your statement of the rooms being small. Our hotel rooms were built to exact Marriott specifications. We are a generation 4 SpringHill Suites and the rooms are actually larger than the Generation 1 and 2 SpringHill Suite rooms. This is not a complaint I have heard in the past. Perhaps the design made it feel small to you. Either way I again apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend family event and was very impressed. This looks like a fairly new hotel and has a very modern/european design which was very refreshing. Very clean and in great condition with any amenity you could want: small refrigerator, microwave, desk, sitting area, toilet and sink separate from another sink and shower. Bed was a little hard for my taste but just a great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello SharonWS1982,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive review of our property. Your comments as well as your business are both greatly appreciated. We hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked a handicapped room and it was extremely comfortable. We loved the bathroom - lots of grab bars for safety and a separate toilet and sink room.

The room was exceptionally large and beautifully decorated. We were very comfortable. My only issue was there was little drawer space so I could not unpack my suitcase although
there was an armoire with a small hanging space my husband used for his suits and shirts.

Room Tip: I needed to be close to the elevator and there was no unusual noise. Breakfast is very good but go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello kitchenqueen 76,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit such a kind review and for staying with us as well. Both are greatly appreciated. The rooms are indeed larger than most and we receive many favorable comments as a result. We hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. Check in good. Rooms are fairly large with seating area and separate toilet room with small sink. This made it nice for two people to shower and use toilet at the same time. My only complaint was the breakfast area. It was way too small and congested with too few tables and chairs. Later the second day they opened up the conference room for seating but this should be done at all times. The breakfast server had a hard time keeping the food supplied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Jasmine084,

Thank you for submitting your review. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative. Your comments regarding the use of meeting rooms when the breakfast area is full is very fair and we do try and utilize that space whenever we are busy and the rooms are not being used. However, sometimes they are unavailable due to upcoming meetings. I'm not sure whether or not that was the case when you were here. I sincerely apologize that your breakfast experience was not a more positive one.

Thank you as well for all the positive feedback. It sound like your stay overall was a very good one and I hope we see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis Mo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here on our way to the beach. Great hotel. Very clean rooms . Easy on and off the interstate. Would highly recommend this hotel . The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful.
We were visiting several places around town also and it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello momof3gs,

Thank you for the kind review. I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel and the staff, the front desk staff in particular. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.