We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for Event Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Hotel for Event Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a great hotel for family and friends to stay at during our son's Bar Mitzvah celebration. Laura Pelletier made planning easy. Everyone said the rooms were lovely and that the hotel was convenient for all events. We'll definitely plan to do the same for future events. Family enjoyed the large gathering area for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Ami G,

Thank you for the kind review. Your comments regarding our hotel as well as Laura Pelletier are greatly appreciated. We're glad to hear your event went well and appreciated that you would stay with us again in the future. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    73
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
128
45
18
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Another winter review of another SpringHill Suites, this time in Raleigh. This is my favorite. Only about two years old, same floor plan as other Suites, but this one is more modern. Sliding frosted green glass doors close off the toilet/bathroom and shower-sink/bathroom, which are separated. Very nice one doesn't have doors banging into you while using. Great use of space! Another green frosted glass divider between living room and bedroom. Same TV set-up which turns for use toward beds or couch. I really liked the decor, including the bathroom mirror light which was lit from behind a cool circular cover on the mirror.
One thing a little odd, but it's the method these days I guess. Their computer for reservations was down, so she had us call the toll-free number to reserve, right in front of her. I didn't like that, as we get better service right from the hotel, and sometimes better rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello Angell66,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you as well for staying with us. Both are truly appreciated. Sorry for the problem with the computer system, but I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. I hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location was excellent. The hotel was clean and modern. The room was beautiful with a separate shower and toilet area. The sitting area was spacious. The set up was very good. The staff was helpful and courteous. ANd the breakfast was awesome! It was buffet style, and had everything from potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmel, cold cereals, yogurt danishes, coffee, teas, juices.... a full breakfast that was complimentary. Highly recommend and the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Kisabella,

Thank you for the flattering review, it is very appreciated. I particularly appreciate your detailed description of our complimentary breakfast and am glad you enjoyed it. We hope you will come see us again. Happy New Year!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stay here often when visiting family. It is conveniently located off hwy 15-501 in a quiet area that has several restaurants nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We have never had a bad stay here. The price is good for the area, and a good breakfast is included. I find the bathroom set-up a little bit lacking in privacy, with the shower in one room and the toilet in its own small space, but it is perfect for families who need access to both areas at a variety of times. The breakfast area on weekends is full of screaming children, which is a plus if you have one of those but a negative if you just want some coffee in peace. This is a solid example of the modern Marriott brand (Springhill), and except for the kids everywhere, it is a perfect place to stay in the area. And if you have kids, you will really love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello lynford 100,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we appreciate that you continue to stay with us each time you return to the area. Our return guests business as well as their feedback are critical to our success as a hotel and we thank you for your loyalty. Happy New Year to you and your family.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights around the Christmas holidays. The room was very nice. Great set up and very clean. We enjoyed the free hot breakfast, manager's reception in the evenings with free appetizers, pool, hot tub, and fitness. Great location close to both Duke and UNC. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. This is my new go to hotel when I visit family in the triangle area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello jbdusf,

Thank you for the kind review as well as for your business. Both are greatly appreciated. We're truly glad you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear you would choose us again next time you're in our area. Happy New Year to you!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A+ in all areas. Stayed over Christmas to be near family. Staff was super nice and our room was beyond CLEAN! Nice pool, and lobby sitting area very inviting. Extra lighting in the room with very nice suite design. On our next family visit we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Timeline01,

Thank you for the very kind review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you and your family had a very, Merry Christmas and am glad to hear that you would stay with us again next time you're in our area. Thanks again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Chose this hotel as it was close to a meeting location, and because I have had great luck with Springhill Suites recently - and this one delivered as well! The hotel seems quite new, and the layout is very convenient for business. I so appreciate a well thought out work area - convenient lighting, easy to get to and abundant outlets, comfortable chair, and not right in front of the ac unit. The front desk attendant, Theresa, was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We were delighted to learn of the managers reception upon arrival, it was very welcoming after a long day of travel and meetings.
The room layout is similar to other Springhill's I've stayed at, and the 24 hour exercise facility is convenient and sufficient.
This was my first time in Durham, so I don't have anything to compare to. However, i would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello wisgirl01,

Thank you for the kind review and for staying with us. Both are greatly appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your kind comments regarding Theresa as well as the SpringHill Suites brand. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Happy holidays!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.