We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical floor plan for work and rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 67 hotels in Durham
Mountain Park, NC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Practical floor plan for work and rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked a suite with two queens. Spacious arrangement that included sectional sofa for chatting with our guests. Mini bar, fridge coffee maker, microwave, roomy desk for work, free wifi, good lighting in bedroom and work areas with glass partition between. Unusual split bath arrangement - water closet with tiny sink separate from another full size sink and shower room. Only thing that didn't work was the odd pair of mirrors mounted in corner above tiny sink. You have to press the side of your head against a wall to see your reflection! Better to use the huge mirror in the other bath compartment. Extensive, hot breakfast buffet included. Excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello Draftcross,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. The review as well as your business are both greatly appreciated. Come see us again soon and Happy Holidays.

Ted Franzese
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    66
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
116
43
18
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spring hill Suites is our new favorite hotel chain! They have wonderfully spacious rooms, two bathroom sinks, an included breakfast buffet, an indoor pool, etc! This is the place to stay in Chapel Hill! abulous!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello Californiafatcat,

Thank you for the kind review and thanks for staying with us as well. We really do appreciate it. Come see us again soon and Happy Holidays!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a beautiful hotel. We had a King Suite and I loved the decor with the frosted glass and the sliding doors. The bed was very comfortable and had these great adjustable reading lights mounted to the headboard.
The room was very clean and well designed for your comfort. There were plenty of electric outlets available for you to plug in your electronics. They even had a sturdy "open-slat" wood platform above the AC unit where you could place a suitcase for easy access.
Loved the walk in shower with plenty of room to move, and the back-lit large round mirror was great. Go to their website and look at the room photos!
There were plenty of nearby restaurants. It was so easy to get to from I-40. The staff was helpful with local directions. There was plenty of food served for breakfast.

My only complaints would be having to pay $2 for a bottle of water - but that is typical in most hotels, and the in room coffee which is lousy - also true at most hotels.

Room Tip: Even though our room (#409) was the first one past the elevator and near an ice machine, I never hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello DMKirk,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed review. I was very impressed with your attention to detail and am pleased that we made your stay with us a pleasant one. I enjoyed all your feedback, including the coffee comment. I hope you will come see us again. Happy Holidays.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very new motel. Rooms are very big with separate sitting area. BIG TV. Separate water closet and nice, big shower. They serve breakfast, but it was mobbed when we were checking out, so you better go early to eat so things aren't so hectic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello jnenc,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the crowded breakfast area. It can get busy during the peak times. You are correct in saying it's often better to get there early. I hope you will come see us again and Happy Holidays.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed overnight at SpringHill Suites upon recommendation of friends. We opted to stay here instead of a nearby conference center, and saved enough on the difference in room price to pay for a gourmet dinner for 5 in Carrboro. We found the decor to be interesting and fresh. The outdoor fire pit was a nice touch, as was the bar in the lobby. Breakfast looked inviting, but we opted for a downtown favorite. Our room was roomy, clean and comfortable. Our 15 YO daughter used the sleeper sofa and slept well. Its hard to beat the location, equidistant to UNC or Duke. We will add this hotel to our favorites for this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello bigdumbandugly,

I must admit I feel a little strange addressing you by that name, but that's the only name I see. Thank you for the kind review. Your comments are most appreciated. I'm glad to hear you will be adding us to your favorites and I hope we will see you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed two nights and everything was great. The room was clean, the staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast is included in your stay and they had a lot of choices. The hotel is close to a lot of restaurants and shopping. You can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello Wallbs,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we're truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind comments and we hope we will see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Close to Chapel hill, excellent furnishings, layout, great breakfast, indoor pool and more! Highly recommend this hotel. Nice staff as well! Great place to stay. Excellently maintained in every area I encountered.

Room Tip: Asian influence decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Janice F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. Both are greatly appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come see us again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
#10 Family Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;