We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms for family or business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great rooms for family or business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very new motel. Rooms are very big with separate sitting area. BIG TV. Separate water closet and nice, big shower. They serve breakfast, but it was mobbed when we were checking out, so you better go early to eat so things aren't so hectic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello jnenc,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the crowded breakfast area. It can get busy during the peak times. You are correct in saying it's often better to get there early. I hope you will come see us again and Happy Holidays.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    76
    23
    14
    3
See reviews for
139
47
20
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed overnight at SpringHill Suites upon recommendation of friends. We opted to stay here instead of a nearby conference center, and saved enough on the difference in room price to pay for a gourmet dinner for 5 in Carrboro. We found the decor to be interesting and fresh. The outdoor fire pit was a nice touch, as was the bar in the lobby. Breakfast looked inviting, but we opted for a downtown favorite. Our room was roomy, clean and comfortable. Our 15 YO daughter used the sleeper sofa and slept well. Its hard to beat the location, equidistant to UNC or Duke. We will add this hotel to our favorites for this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello bigdumbandugly,

I must admit I feel a little strange addressing you by that name, but that's the only name I see. Thank you for the kind review. Your comments are most appreciated. I'm glad to hear you will be adding us to your favorites and I hope we will see you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed two nights and everything was great. The room was clean, the staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast is included in your stay and they had a lot of choices. The hotel is close to a lot of restaurants and shopping. You can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello Wallbs,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we're truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind comments and we hope we will see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Close to Chapel hill, excellent furnishings, layout, great breakfast, indoor pool and more! Highly recommend this hotel. Nice staff as well! Great place to stay. Excellently maintained in every area I encountered.

Room Tip: Asian influence decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Janice F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. Both are greatly appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come see us again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McColl SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently stayed a few days here and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The rooms, gym/pool and bar were all very clean. The staff was incredibly friendly. Special thanks goes to Gloria at the front desk. She was incredibly friendly and made my stay very enjoyable. Would definitely return for another visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Mrogers09,

Thank you for the kind review and thank you as well for staying with us. It's great to hear that you would stay with us again when you return to the Durham area. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and Gloria in particular. I will make sure everyone sees your review. Thanks again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Our large family wedding party was high-needs and unruly. The hotel staff went above and beyond in both meeting our needs and those of the other guests. When some children in our group caused a problem with the elevator, the staff were both efficient in solving the problem, and supportive of the kids. This was amazing service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Skrice,

Thank you for submitting your Trpadvisor review. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business. I'm glad your wedding group had such a good time and I will certainly share your kind comments with the other members of our staff. Thanks again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This property is less than 2 years old, yet feels much older. Room was beyond musty. Big stains on the carpet. Limited bar and snack selections. Staff tries hard, but you get the feeling that the management doesn't try hard because this is a popular area and they can sell the rooms without having to do the proper upkeep. I would look elsewhere if I were here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Clubman64,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and I'm sorry we did a poor job of supplying you with the cleanliness and condition level you expect and deserve. It is true that during our highest occupancy times, it can be difficult to provide upkeep on the rooms in accordance with guest expectations. However, it is our responsibility to do just that and I again apologize for our shortcomings. I hope that if you do return to the Durham area you will call me personally to make a reservation and I assure you we will do our best to restore your faith in our hotel. Thank You!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.