We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New modernistic facilty with relaxed comfort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 67 hotels in Durham
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New modernistic facilty with relaxed comfort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Every aspect of this hotel is relaxing. The friendly staff ensured that our stay was hassle-free and enjoyable. The king-suite on the sixth floor has a unique design with conveniences that are top of the line. With deference to previous reviews, the bed was extremely comfortable. Water presuure is still low in faucets and shower. It seems like a simple thing to re-engineer. We enjoyed our stay and would do it agian when travelling to NC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    65
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
115
43
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The staff at this Hotel was wonderful, Ms Tierene was very personable and was able to make me feel right at home.I will continue to stay at this hotel when I come back in town.The staff was very helpful with getting me to my location outside the Hotel..Thanxs Springhill..You guys rock...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a great place with a great staff, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very attentive to guest needs. The only problem is the pool is cold, but they say it is 81 degrees, no way. They measure from a meter in the (pool room) not from a thermometer in the actual pool. BUT AGAIN THE STAFF IS ABSOLUTELY GREAT.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I was in Durham for business and was so happy with this hotel! Suites are well designed with L shaped sofas in the guestrooms and 2 little moveable tables, perfect for laptops. My coworker and I were able to work in the guest room with wifi in complete comfort. The bathrooms were gorgeous and well designed with plenty of light and space. My only complaint was the water pressure in the shower was low. Considering the rest of the experience, that wasn't much of a concern. Breakfast is great and there were plenty of different food options. The staff was friendly. The lobby is well designed and I loved the lobby bar and fire pit out front. There were tons of good places to eat and shop nearby and it was conveniently located.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Price was reasonable. Room was clean. Breakfast good. The toilet stopped twice. The first time maintanence came to fix it. The second time I was handed a plunger. Room was suffiecient size for five adults. Sofabed was new. Had to remove the packing wires to use it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here last weekend for a UNC football game. The hotel was clean, rooms nicely decorated, and very quiet considering there were fans from several teams staying there. Our only issue (and it was an important one) was there was very little water pressure in the shower. It took forever to take a shower! Our room was at the end of the hallway, and our friends closer to the center didn't have a problem. Overall, I would stay there again and just request a different room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I have been to this hotel too many times, courtesy of medical treatments I am having at Duke Medical. They are incredibly accommodating, helpful, short easy distance to Duke, and very very clean. The staff, especially Nick (food) and the bartender are wonderful. If you must be in this area, THIS is the hotel to stay at...and I write this at my own risk of not getting a room due to demand!

Room Tip: queen size beds (2) if you are in hospital treatment or king - both excellent choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Durham
#10 Family Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.