We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with previous review, but ----” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Tatum Drive, Durham, NC 27703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Durham
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Agree with previous review, but ----”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Loved the hotel and staff, restaurant not so great but we had a good 2-night stay. However, we had our dog with us and that all went very well but on the way home we realized that we had left a fairly expensive dog bed on the floor so called back when we got home to notify the staff and ask that they hold the bed for a friend to pick up today. Was told by Lee that he would take care of it but when our friend went by this evening, no one knew anything about the dog bed. I can only assume that someone decided they would like to have it for their pet and this is not the action of a class hotel in my opinion. Our stupid mistake for leaving it and I can always buy a new bed but I do not have to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    72
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
38
22
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NoVa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Beautiful new hotel conveniently located within 7 minutes of the RTP campus, with ample parking, an indoor pool and a small but functional work out room. The rooms are huge and are designer decorated. Really nice touches include wood floors (so no crusty carpets to walk across), lots of great bed pillows, great TV with HD signal and backlighting, good (lamp) lighting, nice work desk 7 free wi-fi), and a huge shower with a free-standing wood bench. One more nice touch are the super soft robes they provide.
Where this hotel falls down is in everything else. There is no fridge or microwave in the room, so if you're staying more than a couple days you can't bring home leftovers. There are no pull out drawers - just shelves (not convenient when unpacking socks and underwear). you can't control the room temperature - only whether the heat or a/c is on. If you turn just the fan on, it blows so hard and loud it's like a wind machine. And when all the lights are off, a super-annoying mini strobe light flashes from the smoke alarms. The "restaurant" was a cafe situated in what would be the lobby - the menu choices are limited and the staff is usually one person who serves as bartender/waiter/room servce. Worse is how they add the gratuity even if you eat alone in the cafe! I found this insulting (like i couldn't be trusted to tip.)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELindigoRTP, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel. It is always refreshing to hear such positive feedback. We do have a few refrigerators on property that can bring to your room upon request. The TV stand doubles as an armoire with ample space for clothing. The HVAC system works similarly to most homes with a thermostat that is on the wall (It is not necessary to use the controls on unit itself). The restaurant currently does not add gratuity to checks unless it is a room service order or a large party. We greatly appreciate your business and would like to be your hotel of choice the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Mike Riccardo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This was my first stay at a Hotel Indigo and I will stay again. The interior is very modern with vibrant refreshing colors. The location of the hotel was convenient to the airport without having to worry about a plane landing on the hotel.

I did wish there would have been a bigger food selection in the restaurant, especially for breakfast, but it was an all around quality and comfortable hotel that made me feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Durham one evening while passing through the Raleigh area. The hotel is very clean and modern. The rooms have a great shower and nice sized television for relaxing. The beds and pillows were comfortable and we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELindigoRTP, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Indigo RDU. Sorry about the hot tub... however, it has been fixed...Please come back and see us when time permits and enjoy the hot tub! Have a lovely day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

This may sound like it's a paid advertisement (or from hotel management) but I'm just a scientist who travelled up to RTP for research -- and got blown away by this brand new hotel. This is no cookie-cutter lookalike... it's more like a boutique hotel. The decor throughout is clean and modern with touches of the orient. The rooms are spacous and quiet...with spashes of color and with interesting touches -- a curved wall with a floor-to-ceiling flower mural separates the closet from the rest of the room. The bathroom has a huge shower area (with a stool) and is clean and white. The flat screen TV was as big as a wall and could be rotated toward the desk (free wi-fi) , the bed, or toward a large lounging chair. The service from hotel management was superior... if you needed more coffee, they sent it up...they have an airport shuttle van and will take you to nearby restaurants or companies. There is a hotel restaurant (i only used used it for breakfast...sorry -- not complementary) which serve Starbucks and is also a bar in t he evening. It would have nice if there were some outlets for plugging in your computer in the bistro area. There is also a lovely main foyer in the hotel. ...and, on expedia... the room price was more than competitiive... all-in-all, a delightful experience !! highly recommended...and i'm definitely staying there again the next time i go back...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Very nice new hotel with staff that really tries to take care of you. I have stayed here 3 times and first 2 were great!

I had my car broken into just outside the rear entrance and day staff was VERY helpful, but it took 7 messages to General Manager and emails to Priority Club with NO response. I finanlly caught the GM in his office and asked about security cameras. they have them but only INSIDE the property! GM offered No assistance or anything other than he had been busy between 2 properties and was sorry he hadn't returned my calls.

Please be careful where you park when staying here...DANGEROUS parking lots!!!!

I'm trying to decide if I will stay at another IC Hotel or not after staying over 35 nights this year!

Oh well, managment is busy and returning a call of a patron isn't that important!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELindigoRTP, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
On behalf of the Hotel Indigo in Durham, North Carolina we sincerely apologize for this unfortunate event that you experienced during your visit with us. While car vandalisms are random acts, it doesn't make it any easier that you were a victim of this regrettable event. We take proactive measures to ensure that the parking lot is well lit and have a member of the staff patrol the parking lot at various times. As a reminder to our guests please take the necessary precautions to remove any and all valuables from your vehicles to help prevent such random acts.

I am the new General Manager for this hotel and I can assure you that I am available and responsive to all guests' needs and requests. Please feel free to contact me at any time.

Mike Riccardo,
General Manager
919-474-3000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Beautiful hotel! Rooms were spacious, modern, trendy and very clean. Friendly staff. Our room was the standard non-smoking and had a huge ?42" widescreen flat panel TV with ambient lighting to ease eye strain. Huge shower stall with a stool for sitting. No nasty carpet - wood laminet flooring. Nice office desk with secured internet connection. Recently opened, highly recommend especially for business related events. Only needed a one night stay but ended up staying another night because it was so nice. And it wasn't too pricey either.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP

Address: 151 Tatum Drive, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Durham Research Triangle Park (RTP), North Carolina, is a place where you will enjoy every moment of your stay. Imagine a new branded boutique hotel designed to deliver guests a distinctive and engaging experience. Let us inspire you with our refreshing design and intimate service. 'Curl Up' and escape from the ordinary. Our 100% smoke-free hotel offers cozy, airy, and inviting guest rooms with oversized beds, plush bedding, hardwood-style flooring with area rugs, 42 HDTVs and spa-inspired shower. In public spaces, the scent, music, artwork, murals are changed to reflect the season. Our hotel is conveniently located near Raleigh Durham airport (RDU) for business travelers at RTP which is the heart of the Raleigh, Cary, and Durham metropolitan area with more than 170 companies. Our hotel offers free high speed Internet access, a business center, conference room, and boardroom. We provide a complimentary shuttle to/from RDU airport as well as local businesses. We are a short drive to many attractions including museums, RBC Center, Univ of North Carolina (UNC), Duke Univ, and NC State Univ (NCSU).At our boutique hotel, you can enjoy the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and Phitness Room. Satisfy your discriminating palate at Phi, an on-site casual restaurant and lounge serving fine cuisine. Starbucks coffee is also available at the restaurant. You will find Hotel Indigo Durham RTP simply unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.