We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Tatum Drive, Durham, NC 27703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Durham
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I love the ambiance of Hotel Indigo. Bright, contemporary design. The vibrant suites colors give the feel as if you are staying a in a friend’s guest room. Hard wood floors. Small carpeted area with love seat and ottoman. ….The front desk representative greeted us with a bottles of water and a choice of chocolate goodies <ooh la la, I’ll take it!>...Glass enclosed showers. Complimentary Aveda products <always make my heart sing>. The bath also included cleansing and beauty make-up towelettes <nice touch!>

Large comfy beds. I thought the head pillows could have been a tad bit larger but they provide you a few extras. Plenty of workspace area with desk. Swivel flatscreen television. No mini-fridge in room if you were looking for that.

Hotel Indigo is a very eco-friendly hotel, similar to the Aloft brand. I found the A/C a little noisier than my liking when turned on. But that could also be by design. The stay was still comfortable without the added coolness.

I didn’t have an opportunity to visit the fitness center. We had an event which I think was in Downtown Durham, and it was about a 15 minute drive away. Doesn’t seem to have a lot of late night food options nearby – fyi for the night owls.

Good stay. Quiet area. Great place for those near the area that may want a quiet getaway or staycation. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha M, Sales & Events Coordinator at Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking out the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to your return sometime soon!


Warm regards,


Samantha Myszelow
Sales and Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    72
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
38
22
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were only staying one night and the "differentness" of this place intrigued me. The ambiance made me feel like I stepped onto a tropical island. It was bright, clean and friendly. Next time I'm bringing my swimsuit for the hit tub. The price was comparable with other old cookie cutter hotels nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

With IHG Priorirty Club points, I had my choice of several Raleigh area hotels. Having never stayed in an Indigo, I thought I;d give it a try - it looked like a fun place and was a good location.I liked that fact it was in an office/commercial area - being a holiday, it was quiet. Check in was friendly and accommodating. Our requests had been met and we were recognized as PC members.

The decor is bright, sort of Sino-Floridian( LOL). I guess it is meant to be whimsical but I found it a bit garish. The laminate floors in the room are great for cleanliness but look a bit cheap. Ours was already buckling in places. The sofa in the room as dirty and had a tear. It's so hard to keep things nice - people really are brutal to hotel rooms. I guess it's a reflection on society today - sad. Anyway - the room itself was gloriously large but seemed to have wasted space for a " green" hotel. The sofa area would have been better used with a kitchenette. Funny to call a room an d " junior suite" and not have a fridge.

The light control was odd. There were "master switches" near the door that had to be on before table lamps and outlets would work. You had to just " find" these. Internet was free, but rather slow. View from the top floor was very nice. Room was clean. Bedding was clean and acceptable - except comforter was heavy and did not smell clean- I took it off ( didn't need it).

TV channels were standard - 42 inch TV had great picture quality. In room coffee was good. No tub in the bath - just a shower, but is was large and clean. The wooden Japanese shower stool is quaint but I wasn't thrilled about sitting on it - didn't seem very sanitary to me. Shower head was low-flow and water was luke-warm. Toiletries were great! Spa quality there! Bath was brightly lit and well appointed.

Pool was a joke- hot-tub size. There is a small hot tub adjacent but I did not use- too cramped and screaming kids made me decide on something else. The fitness room was small but equipment looked good. The small restaurant/bar area was deserted when we arrived. There was a cooler ( the type you see in airports) with drinks and snack and pre-wrapped sandwiches. Menus were on the table. The room service menu was in our room - a few interesting selections, but way overpriced. I did not see anyone eating in the restaurant area while I was there, but the hotel was low occupancy due to the holiday.

The best thing this hotel had going for it was the friendly staff, the quiet location, and the bathroom toiletries. Not a bad choice but not a " destination" either. I wouldn't pay full price for the rooms and amenities, but it a clean, quiet, friendly place to sleep if the rate is right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha M, Sales & Events Coordinator at Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Carl,

On behalf of the management staff, I want to thank you for your loyalty with IHG Rewards Club, previously known as Priority Rewards Club. We value your business and appreciate your honest feedback.

We will address your room concerns with our keepers to ensure we are providing the best kept rooms in town and our engineer to make sure our water is flowing properly. Our restaurant is undergoing a menu change and we are going to see more local food options.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Samantha Myszelow
Sales & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for just one night whilst on business in the immediate area. Its easy to find and only a few miles from the airport. The area is pretty quiet, theres a few restaurants further up the road and thats about it.

The hotel itself was very nice. It looked like it was either brand new or recently refurbished. Everything looked really clean, modern & trendy. The foyer, the bar area, the lifts, hallway & even the rooms. Couldnt fault it.

The rooms were specious and done modern. Bathroom was very clean and looked new. The bed was very comfortable. The room had good black out curtains and i didnt notice any excess noise from other rooms or areas. Room had a nice big lcd television and coffee making facilities.

The reception staff were polite and helpful, in fact all staff were, except one bar person who seemed to be half asleep. We tried to engage her in conversation but she wasnt interested, and then when we were waiting to order another drink she wandered off completely - so we decided to go elsewhere.

We didnt try the evening food although it looked very nice and decided to go to a local chinese place instead. My colleague was happy with the chinese, but after looking at other hotel guests burgers I wish id had the hotel burger instead - it did look good. I did try the breakfast through which was very tasty and whilst the room coffee tasted a bit ropey, the coffee in the restaurant was good stuff.

All in all, I was very impressed with the place and would certainly recommend it to anyone who needs to stay over in the area. We did notice a large amount of air stewardess`s and pilots wandering about the place, so it must be popular with them too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were modern, with beautiful floors, and vibrant colors. I was very impressed with the size of the room and the cleanliness, and the bathroom was huge. I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Came on rec from coworker. Lucky! Service is wonderful and attentive. Rooms have wood laminate floor... Love it! No hotel ucky carpet feeling. Showers are huge.... With great showerheads. Colors/decor are calming with the key west-like blues and greens. Restaurant was just perfect gor grabbing a bite. Quality dishes that tasted good! I come to the RDU/RTP area often... And i will be back. In a few weeks as a matter of fact!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Coworkers said stay here. They were right.
The place has that boutique hotel cuteness.
The staff was funny, hip, urban (note, location is NOT urban) and helpful.
Colors are pleasant and oh so non traditional hotel like.

There is this little ryokan wood bench in the shower stall.
There is hardwood floors (or wood laminate whatever) rather than carpeting wall to wall.
There is an area rug, so your toes don't get cold.

Hotel is very convenient to I-40 and minutes away from the RDU airport.

I had breakfast 1 morning. An egg omelet. Would not repeat it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP

Address: 151 Tatum Drive, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Durham Research Triangle Park (RTP), North Carolina, is a place where you will enjoy every moment of your stay. Imagine a new branded boutique hotel designed to deliver guests a distinctive and engaging experience. Let us inspire you with our refreshing design and intimate service. 'Curl Up' and escape from the ordinary. Our 100% smoke-free hotel offers cozy, airy, and inviting guest rooms with oversized beds, plush bedding, hardwood-style flooring with area rugs, 42 HDTVs and spa-inspired shower. In public spaces, the scent, music, artwork, murals are changed to reflect the season. Our hotel is conveniently located near Raleigh Durham airport (RDU) for business travelers at RTP which is the heart of the Raleigh, Cary, and Durham metropolitan area with more than 170 companies. Our hotel offers free high speed Internet access, a business center, conference room, and boardroom. We provide a complimentary shuttle to/from RDU airport as well as local businesses. We are a short drive to many attractions including museums, RBC Center, Univ of North Carolina (UNC), Duke Univ, and NC State Univ (NCSU).At our boutique hotel, you can enjoy the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and Phitness Room. Satisfy your discriminating palate at Phi, an on-site casual restaurant and lounge serving fine cuisine. Starbucks coffee is also available at the restaurant. You will find Hotel Indigo Durham RTP simply unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.