We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Comfort in every sense of the word!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Daughters Inn

Save Saved
You added The King's Daughters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The King's Daughters Inn
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Durham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury and Comfort in every sense of the word!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My third stay at the King's Daughters Inn and I finally realized what a great nights sleep I get every time I stay. The air quality is wonderful! They have a state of the art HVAC system that creates great clean air! No middle of the night stuffy feeling! Thank you.

Besides the great nights sleep, the rooms are beautifully appointed (check out the website to find your favorite decor). The breakfast is always yummy and it is great to just relax in the beautiful parlor or sunroom.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
61
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

This inn was truly lovely! It felt like being a guest in someone's amazing home, but with more privacy than B&Bs. My room was such a comfortable space with nice furnishings, and I especially loved the amazing sheets and bed linens, which felt luxurious against my skin. Also, each night there was a small glass of sherry and a wrapped chocolate left for me on my night table! There was a wonderful and varied breakfast in a nice, light-filled breakfast room. Everyone who works at the inn, including the owners, were very responsive and helpful. If I ever return to Durham, I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed at the KDI in January and it exceeded our expectations. I am not a B&B type at all, but wanted to try this as it's close to Duke. The rooms are some of the most beautiful I have seen anywhere, including 5-star hotels around the world. The beds are on my list of top-3 most comfortable hotel beds ever! You sink into the clean, white, triple-sheeted beds and never want to get up again. Every room is different and since the doors to empty rooms are kept open, you can peek around and see the variety. Every need is anticipated, whether it be toiletries, make-up mirror, good reading lights near the sitting areas, etc. The public areas are elegant and bright. I always find B&Bs to be a tad dark with slightly shabby, Victorian-era furniture and creepy lighting, but this place looks like the living rooms and sunrooms on the covers of upscale home magazines. The fabrics are crisp and clean and modern and the furniture is a nice blend of antiques and modern pieces.

Colin (innkeeper husband) is indeed a bit laconic but I really think he is just a quiet sort, not sour as some have mentioned. He could perk up a bit, though, especially when guests first arrive as some might feel he does not care that they are there. Deanna makes up for this with her pleasant personality. All in all, this is a great addition to the Durham hotel scene.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I was sad that our night activities kept us out so late because we had a GORGEOUS suite in which we didn't spend enough time! The room itself was large and had tons of character, with different colors on the walls and the furniture suited to the 1920s style. In such an old building, I was pleasantly surprised that KDI is so environmentally friendly-for instance, reusing the laundry water to flush the toilets. Their toiletries are locally made, too. While modern amenities like a gym are absent, these hip Durhamites aren't afraid to come back down to earth and remind guests that Duke East Campus is just across the street, with a multi-mile running/walking path.

KDI offers a great location, friendly and personal service, as well as historical accommodation with modern concern.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My Mom and I stayed here for Mother's Day this past summer and while visiting I read in a magazine that The Lion King Musical would be at DPAC in January 2011. I immediately scooted downstairs to talk to Deanna (owner) and she said since they are affiliated with the DPAC for visitor stays that they get tickets and I could go through her for best seats, picking dates, etc. She assisted with this along with choosing a room this time for 3 ladies for our overnight experience! We arrived early on Saturday as I had emailed to let her know not expecting to check in and they already had cleaned our suite first so we could bring our bags up and hang a little bit before the 2 p.m. matinee. She also had already arranged a taxi per my email which is a 1 mile ride from the Inn to DPAC at a cost of $10.00 to be dropped at the front entrance. What service! After the amazing show we taxied back to the hotel to have some wine and relax before heading to dinner at Brightleaf which is only a few blocks away with lots of varied restaurant choices. Breakfast on Sunday morning from 8 to 10 a.m. was wonderful with homemade granola (self serve, fruit, muffins, juices, coffee) and then they take your order for eggs, bacon or sausage, homefries, toast or english muffin in a gorgeous dining area! We love the Kings Daughter Inn and can't thank them enough for the service and quality they provide! We will be back for more celebrations in the future I'm sure!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjbusdicker@mac.com
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This large and wonderful Inn, right next to East Campus, is just what I was looking for in a hotel in Durham. We live out of state and our daughter attends Duke so when we visit it's nice to have a beautiful home-away-from-home. The inn is a comfortable spot to meet, and be together. She hangs out with us and takes her own mini vacation by napping in a peaceful room and doing her school work in a beautiful setting for an afternoon. The public spaces are large and there are several very welcoming rooms where you can enjoy your tea and lap top. I'd have to say it's a pretty perfect place!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We enjoyed our evening at this beautiful historic Inn - gorgeous rooms, immaculate environment, lovely afternoon tea and delicious breakfast cooked by the lovely and friendly Innkeeper Wife. All this was diminished only by the unfortunate attitude of the Innkeeper Husband, who was begrudging and unforthcoming at every turn: at check-in & check-out; in informing us about afternoon tea and the turn-down service, both of which we had to inquire about and request; he seemed somewhat put out, and in the case of the latter, deposited it hurriedly in a most unobliging manner (with no turn-down). Overall however, we would definitely come back. We hope the male Innkeeper was just having a bad couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crc32, Owner at The King's Daughters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
We are so sorry we did not meet the needs of these guests in every way!

Afternoon tea is available every day, and is always complimentary. To allow for flexibility in people’s schedules, we switched from having tea at 4pm, to being available all afternoon. This ensures any guest who would like tea service won’t miss out because they had a busy schedule at 4. This also enables us to offer the freshest tea of your choice (14 different loose-leaf organic varieties) and tea snacks (fresh-from-the-oven scones and breads, and homemade lemon curd) to each guest looking to enjoy! Because of this change, guests do need to let us know they’d like to have tea, and if they’d like to sit on the sun porch, in the parlor, or in their room.


We often attract local couples that are looking for an intimate one-night get-away (maybe an anniversary, birthday, or first night away from the kids!). We had several couples here on Christmas Eve, including this one, that were local, and treating themselves to a one-night staycation - we work very hard to meet their needs, without infringing on their alone time! These guests were in their room when we were doing turndowns for the evening. As is always the case when that happens, we called to ask if they would like theirs, but they didn't answer. At that point, we sure don't want to knock on the door! They did call to ask about turndowns, and the Innkeeper Husband brought up the port and local chocolates. From what he could see, it looked like the lights were on and blinds closed, and again, we don't like to barge in on a special evening without being invited. We sincerely apologize he misunderstood the situation, and didn't turn down the bed. That certainly wasn't the intent!


We always strive to exceed the expectations of all guests and meet their every need, while respecting their privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The King's Daughters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Daughters Inn

Address: 204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Daughters Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing boutique luxury in an intimate urban setting, the King's Daughters Inn is Durham's premiere Inn. Relax in one of the seventeen graciously appointed one- and two- room suites, or host an event in one of three elegant meeting spaces. Located across the street from Duke University, only minutes to the Durham Performing Arts Center, the King's Daughters Inn is an excellent choice for luxury hospitality in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your The King's Daughters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Daughters Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Daughters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.