We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see a show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center

DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center
123 Vivian St., American Tobacco District, Durham, NC
919-680-2787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Attractions in Durham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venue opened in 2009.
USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to see a show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The DPAC is right in the middle of Downtown Durham. It is a HUGE theater that tends to bring in some really big name performers. The building is in great shape and the seats are very comfortable. There is a ticket booth on the inside of the lobby. I would suggest buying your tickets there, as the staff is helpful in showing you which seats are available and the best ones left to pick from.

There are parking ramps available, and for those that have handicap parking permits, there are many spaces right in front of the theater that are on a street that isn't that busy.

This is a very modern building, and a cool sight to see if you are in Durham, NC.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    72
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice venue, overpriced drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This venue pulls in great acts. It's new so it's very nice and clean on the inside, but the drinks are overpriced and the people there aren't the most friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing this feedback.

Providing a welcoming, comfortable and inviting atmosphere is very important to us at DPAC. I’m sorry that this wasn’t evident during your last visit. To make sure that the appropriate actions are taken to address this issue, I will share your comments with our management team.

Bob Klaus
DPAC - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DPAC Bonnie Raitt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

DPAC is a fantastic room to listen to any musical performance. The acoustics are pristine and I literally don't believe there is a bad seat in the house. I wish the volume was just a bit louder, this was a rock concert after all. Second show I've seen at DPAC and I'd definitely go back. Lots of places to eat within walking distance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The BEST performing arts center I've visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am a theater aficionado and have visited over a dozen theaters in the past few months. On Saturday we went to DPAC to see WAR HORSE (FANTASTIC!). I'm from out of town, and this was my first visit to DPAC. It was the most amazing theater I've visited. From the moment you walk down the red carpet and are greeted by two smiling attendants, donned with red coats and black top hats, you feel something magical is about to happen. The venue itself is modern and beautiful. EVERYONE we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. There were tons of selections for food and drink - bars and little "cafes" everywhere, and even an old-fashioned ice cream cart with delicious water ice. Theater seats were roomy and very comfortable; sound and stage were excellent. At intermission, all employees kicked into high gear to guide patrons to beverages and restrooms with well marked signs; the restrooms were large and fully staffed so that everyone could be back in their seats when the show resumed. I've never seen such excellent customer service! The management of DPAC should give seminars to many of the other theaters in this country :) Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Nice venue in Durham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful and clean. There is not a bad seat in the house and some big name performers come to DPAC. I've seen Blue Man Group, Wicked, and almost Adele (cancelled). There are some nice restaurants close by also.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.