We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Revolution - Durham

Revolution - Durham
107 W. Main Street, Durham, NC 27701
9199569999
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Revolution - Durham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 653 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The food was good, it is just way to dark!! We all had to use our cell phone flashlights to see the menu. The young man who was our waiter was very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Trendy atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We liked the atmosphere of the restaurant and the fact they went out of their way to seat our large group of 9. The food was good, but it wasn't amazing. The menu was diverse and some of the flavors were exceptional, others mediocre. The staff was very nice and very knowledgeable about the food. I would go again as it seems to be the only upscale choice in Durham.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, but somewhat underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

As many reviewers have pointed out, the food at Revolution is good, but in my opinion nothing out of the ordinary. Our party of three started with three appetizers (Oysters, Lamb Sausage, Butter Lettuce Salad) of which we only enjoyed the oysters. The lamb sausage had some strong seasoning going on, which took away from the delicate taste of the lamb itself. The salad was something I could throw together myself in less than 10 mins. From a restaurant that claims to be up with the top addresses in the area, I expect a little more. The highlight of our dining experience was the salmon dish, which two of us ate. It was prepared to perfection, and the citrus gnocchi nicely complemented the fish. The third person had the snapper, which was good, but there was nothing special about it.
The biggest downside was our waiter's snotty attitude, getting impatient when we had questions about some of the dishes before ordering. We also waited at least 25 mins for our check. Also the atmosphere is somewhat questionable. While the inferior is quite nice in its minimalistic style, the noise level got almost unbearable. There was a group of roughly 15 in the bar area, blocking access to the rest rooms, and talking/laughing so loudly that we couldn't have a nice conversation. I would have expected someone to tell them to tone it down a bit.
For me there are far better options on the area (Nana's, Guglhupf), and surprisingly L'Uva, which is also owned by Anile has been delivering better food, and service on recent visits. Probably won't be back here for a while.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Hip and Sparkling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just had drinks before drifting down to the DPAC but enjoyed the visit. Very savvy wine list and cocktail list. Very knowledgable staff and the place had a warm buzz that made us hope to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very friendly and fun, creative food and drinks. The wait staff knew her food and drink and it was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolution - Durham also viewed

 

Been to Revolution - Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revolution - Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.