We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1815 Front Street, Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #31 of 67 hotels in Durham
singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Overall, a nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a fairly nice property that is reasonably well maintained. I have stayed there several times in the past. Overall, it's a very decent place with in a fairly good location. However, the rooms could benefit from some updating/upgrading. Also, one change for the worse is that they changed the buffet breakfast they used to offer for many years with an a la cart meal that is much less attractive. Most of the front desk people were nice and friendly, though one was exceptionally lethargic and had a bit of an attitude. All in all, a fairly good place to stay, though some improvements are called for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
38
23
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've been staying in this hotel for several years. It's convenient to everything and everyone I need to see. Durham is my hometown and I go frequently. The staff is unfailingly polite and accommodating. Recent trip on December 13th was as pleasant as expected. The room was excellent and I especially enjoyed the yellow rubber duck for my bath. The new amenities were a huge plus. I have stayed at the one downtown several times, but I prefer this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Compared to other Courtyards that I have stayed at this place was ok. The room was not very big, and not well lit. The internet was horribly slow. The bed was very comfortable as with all Marriott properties I have stayed at, and the room was clean. The ice machine on our floor was out of commission our entire 3 day stay. No free breakfast. I will say that the lobby was very nice, and the staff was A+. TJ at the front desk gave us great restaurant recommendations both nights we were there. The hotel is centrally located and not very far from Duke, which is why I was there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staff was nice and really liked the location. The bar downstairs was fun and the breakfast was great. For the value you can't beat this place and don't have anything bad to say. I've marked this as my hotel of choice when I do business in downtown Durham.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Overall a great stay, the property is nice and staff were nice and accommodating. Just think they could do a better job of communicating the deposit holds that they put on your credit card at check in. You just never want to be surprised or shut down on using your credit card because of a significant deposit hold on your card when you are on a multi-city business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outer banks
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here while my son was in the hospital. Clean comfy rooms with big beds. Was very quiet considering duke was playing Clemson. The best part of the stay was the Italian resultant within walking distance. Very easy to find considering I am not too familiar with Durham. Staff very nice and helpful. Will stay here again for our next trip to duke.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANAPOLIS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can't say anything negative about this place. I experienced all the elements of a great stay. Parking is free and the exterior/interior is well maintained. They have a friendly well trained staff that genuinely seemed to want to please you. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Plus the hotel has a few nice extras like the bistro lounge in the lobby plus the fire pit gathering area near the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown

Address: 1815 Front Street, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott
Durham Courtyard
Courtyard Durham Duke University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;