We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to DPAC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant

Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant
324 Blackwell St, Durham, NC 27701-3658
919-433-0345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Close to DPAC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went here before going to concert at DPAC. Close to parking garage and only five minute walk to DPAC. Pretty crowded before the concert, but only had to wait 15-20 minutes. Gave us enough time to try one of their many draft beers on tap. Great selection of beer to choose from. Food was ok, but nothing special. Price was about what you would expect to pay for a bar type atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    56
    31
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was a good place to grab some food, but the atmosphere felt rushed. It was very casual, and when we asked the waiter for a recommendation on food, we were told everything was good. It was good food, but if I never go back I would not be heartbroken. If I do go back, I know there will be good food and it will be a nice time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“We do like the burgers - and we don't drink alcohol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We walk over to Tyler's Taproom often following a matinee show at the DPAC. As season ticket members to DPAC (and you mention it to them) you get a complimentary appetizer. We do NOT choose that, as we fill up with the entree, but for those of you in a large party, you might. We get burgers every time. We like them. We like the casualness of the place as well. The garlic fries are tasty, and my friend normally gets the sweet potato fries which she enjoys. We had a family member join us one time, who loved beer and was into things all about beer and history. He loved their selection, and appreciated the serve person who knew as much as well. Interesting - they do NOT serve ANY Budweiser products for you Bud Light folks. Great place to unwind, and be with friends and enjoy a good burger. I hear the chicken pot pie is delicious as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Tap Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stop there quite frequently while shopping at Beaver Commons for a beer and sandwich. Prices are reasonable and servers are friendly. Menu has burgers, pizzas and various sandwiches

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

went to dinner with a business associate from out of town. He tried to oreder one of the red beers on the menu - none on tap. I tried to order my favorite pale ale - nope. I settled for a wheatbeer. When I ordered my second glass - no more left. For a pub that advertises a comprehensive beer menu, 3 strikes is a bit much. Won't go back, there are better sports pubs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.