We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Residence Inn Boulevard, Durham, NC 27713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average hotel, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Good location for working on RTP but far away from downtown. Hotel is pretty average, rooms on the ground floor are of less quality than on higher floors.
Carpets and bathrooms are showing signs of age and the humid weather.
Small fitness center for a quick workout. Breakfast becomes very boring after a few days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
12
6
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I stayed just one night in this hotel. Check in and check out were both quick and easy. My request for a top floor room was fulfilled. The room was very clean and the beds / pillows were comfortable and the hotel seemed was very quiet. The bathroom / shower area was roomier than you see in some other hotels (there was room to step out of the shower and move around a bit). There is also free internet access in the room which was a VERY nice feature. The wired connection was very good. I used the gym once and it is small but the machines were fairly new with TVs and efficient for a quick workout. The hot breakfast buffet was delicious and well worth the price ($10). Access to the highways is easy as well.

Overall, this hotel is great for the price paid and had all the features needed for a comfortable stay. I will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

I stayed here 1 night while in RTP area. The location was perfect for me. I was only there about 12 hours. The check-in was quick and courteous. The room was clean and more than sufficient. The wi-fi signal in the room went up and down a bit, causing some pages to time out. But overall it did work and there was a wired option in the room too. Good Marriott consistency. I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This hotel is very clean, with a knowledgeable and friendly staff. Marriott's consistency is what keeps bring us back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a few days on a business trip. It was clean and quiet - exactly what I needed. The room I stayed in was large with 2 queens and a fold-out sofa. My room was half-way through the floor away from noisy ice machines and lifts. Hotel has a small pool - good for winding down after a busy day.

This hotel is also nicely positioned for a large shopping centre - The Streets at Southpoint - good for buying presents for friends and family.

Overall, this hotel is a great place to stay if you are on business.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

I stayed here for several days in March, 2009. For business, the location is just fine--at the intersection of NC 55 and 54, and less than a mile to Interstate 40. Traffic is not too terrible, but you do have to make a left out of the property, which could be a bit of an issue during rush hour. The room was good--typical Courtyard decor, and clean. The only issue with the room would be that the furniture is a bit worn, with scratch marks and the like. Front desk was fine--gave me a late check-out until 2pm on my last day without issue. Rates were reasonable--I think 120 for a room during the week. In terms of location, which from previous reviews is a bit of a concern--there is not much to do in the immediate area, but several decent restaurants, and you can pop on to the freeways for anything you want to do. The hotel was very quiet while I was there, even though it seemed to be pretty full. I would stay here again, without reservations.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip. Nothing at the hotel really stands out, but that's a good thing for the most part. It was quiet, clean, and comfortable which is all I really need. The excersize room was pathetic which was the only negative for the place. There's a small pool and a whirlpool/jaccuzi thing. The rooms are decent sized, and they have free ethernet internet access. Several restaurants are nearby, and there's a Food Lion less than 1/2 mile away. Great place to stay for business or traveling through, although if you're on a vacation, this isn't exactly a place you'll have great fun at or be entertained by.

  • Liked — Quiet and clean
  • Disliked — Poor excersize room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park

Address: 301 Residence Inn Boulevard, Durham, NC 27713
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott
Durham Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.