We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at a reasonable cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University to your Saves list
Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2306 Elba Street, Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place at a reasonable cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed at the Brookwood one other time last year, as my son was a student at Duke University. This hotel is very close to West Campus. Last weekend we stayed here again for my sons graduation. I was overly impressed with the shuttle service they offered at no extra charge, as well as the late night snacks offered in the lobby. It's a clean, convenient hotel with very kind staff people. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    29
    7
    10
See reviews for
40
11
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Booked this hotel last year for attending a Duke graduation in May of 2014. Hotel rooms near campus get sold out very early and luckily we grabbed this one. Upon arriving we were given room 4000 at the other building. It is a small hall and each floor has 6 units, and our room is right in front of the elevator. To my surprise it has been very quiet for the two nights we stayed here. The room has two full size beds plus a sofa bed. An old style TV and good size bathroom. The wi-fi works but at times the signal was not strong.

The hotel offers shuttle service to places you want to go in campus such as the Duke Garden. The shuttle leaves every half an hour, and to come back to the hotel, you call to be picked up from campus. There is a small cafe in the main building where you can get breakfast. The staff do try hard to help you even though it seems in a bit slower pace.

Given the good quality of rest we received here, we'd stay here again if we ever go back to Durham again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I always stay at The Brookwood Inn when I am visiting my daughter at Duke. I love the accomodations and the staff is always helpful and friendly. The location is good, and the restaurant serves great food. I will miss this hotel once she graduates next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed overnight, as we had to be at Duke North at 7:00 AM for surgery. This hotel is the perfect location for a hospital stay! The tunnel to the hospital is right next door, so you can walk to the hospital and leave your car at the hotel and save on parking! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable (we booked the Executive King room) and it was overall a great experience!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, and our room was a little warmer than we like during the night. A room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed one night with no issues Cafe down stairs very convenient. Walking distance to Duke Medical center. I would recommend this hotel. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Perfect for business. Not a resort. We had a King bed room with a nice TV. I would have liked to have Closed Caption, but didn't think to ask before checking in. Sme one probably walked off with the remote as we had a generic remote which only allowed normal functio n on TV.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Intended to stay at this hotel for 5 nights while training at Duke. Only plus was that it was right across street from the medical center, and you pay the price for that single convenience. I was put in the "dormitory" and, although clean, the halls were a bit rundown and depressing with no amenities. My plan had been to stay close to Duke to avoid a car rental but there were no restaurants or grocery stores nearby. After two nights, I ended up checking out, relocating to a less expensive, more comfortable hotel 10 minutes out of town, and was much happier.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Everything at the hotel was fine. The only problem we had was that we were shuttled over to Duke Medical Center and when our appointment was over, we called for the shuttle to return to get us, and no-one ever did. We ended up walking back to the hotel. This wouldn't have been a problem but my Mom, who was seen at Duke, is not in very good health and this was quite a trek for her. I'm not sure why they didn't return but we waited for an hour after the information desk at the medical center called for the shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University

Address: 2306 Elba Street, Durham, NC 27705
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brookwood Inn of Durham is a contemporary high-rise structure. We are the closest hotel to Duke Medical, Duke University, and The Durham Veterans Administration medical center. Complimentary shuttle service is provided both to and from the medical centers and area attractions. Minutes away from Durham Bulls Athletic park, downtown business, the historic district and the convention center, Duke Homestead, Sarah P. Duke gardens, Duke Chapel and convenient to area shopping malls. We offer spacious well appointed guestrooms, on-site restaurant and one complimentary parking pass per room all in a location central to all points in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookwood Inn Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Duke University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.