We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; a bit noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University

Save Saved
You added Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University
2306 Elba Street, Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good location; a bit noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for a class reunion that was less than a mile away. The hotel is only a block from Duke and VA hospitals, with some food establishments nearby. (There's a small counter service in the hotel as well.) We happened to be here on the night of a Duke football game, and the hotel seemed to have attracted a fair number of young fans. The doors are really thin, and we could hear all conversations in the hallway. A 3 a.m., someone pulled a fire alarm, and we heard a recorded message advising us to exit the building via stairwells. When my husband called the front desk to find out that "someone who was drunk" was responsible. Otherwise, the hotel was clean, convenient and comfortable. But you may want to avoid sporting event weekends.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the elevator. The room doors are paper thin, so conversation in the halls will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
35
9
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Most people stay here as they are visiting the Medical facilitys of Duke University Hospital. It is across the street from the VA center and one block from the main Hospital. Shuttle service can carry you over if you need it. Breakfast and lunch are available in the lobby which is very conveinent as traffic can be heavy here. This is our third stay at this hotel and it relieves the stress of dealing with traffic when you have other issues to deal with. Considering you are next to a hospital, it is relatively quite. Since this is not a vacation destination nor a $300 a night hotel, I consider it excellent for the purpose for which I am here. This should definatly be your choice for your first visit to Duke Hospital and if you don't like it, have fun sitting in traffic and finding a parking place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were booked at this hotel by the fine folks at Duke Hospital (who I adore). It is close to the hospital, walking distance, fairly clean but lacking in the kind of accommodations we enjoy. The room was dark, not comfortable furniture, beds ok, but we moved before my husband left the hospital.

Room Tip: I understand part of the hotel has been renovated, but I don't think we stayed in that part. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

this hotel is one block from duke medical center and the rate includes free parking for one car.
i stayed at the brookwood inn for a week in early september. my executive king room on the 8th floor was very clean and a good size. the bathroom looked new. the bed was comfortable. the staff was helpful and kind. the rooms include wi-fi, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee service. there is also a safe which costs $1 per night.
there is a free every 30 minute shuttle service (don't think it runs on sunday) available for trips within a 3 mile radius. this distance includes most of downtown durham.
there is also a laundry room, an exercise room, and a coffee shop open for breakfast and lunch. i ate one breakfast there and the food and price were fine.
my medical patient rate was $89. smaller rooms are available for less.
one should know that there is essentially no lobby area.

in the past i have stayed at the millennium hotel (about 2 miles away) for medical visits to duke.
the rooms have become increasingly dreary and dated. on the bright side, the millennium has free parking, a swimming pool and exercise room, a nice lobby area, a large bar area with free wi-fi, a restaurant with reasonable food and pricing, and free shuttle to duke, duke medical center, and southpoint mall.

if a nice lobby and the availability of a bar and restaurant are not critical to you, i strongly recommend the brookwood inn.

Room Tip: i liked the quiet top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Don't let the pictures fool you, this is not a "nice" hotel. However, it is fairly clean and right across the street from Duke hospital. You can leave your car in the hotel parking lot at no charge, and walk right across the street to the clinics and hospital. You will get a better rate if you call the hotel directly than going thru a travel website. There was a huge bug in our room the first night, but the front desk clerk came and got it, and we didn't see one again during our 3 night stay. There is free internet access, a fridge, microwave, and tv.

Ask to stay in the main building where the renovations have been done; it's a bit more per night, but worth it if you are that kind of person. Other than that, I would probably stay here again if it were just a couple of nights and I had to stay for hospital reasons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building that has been renovated - but remember it will be about $15 more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The location was perfect for a visit to Duke hospital, a quick 5 min walk (one block, long light) the staff was very accomadating and pleasant. The room was recently renovated and was very clean and had all the amenities you expect with a nice hotel. Felt safe around the hotel too. All of the staff was very nice. Had to make a change to my reservation the day of and they made the change without any issues. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Brookwood Inn Durham for 3 years. I had absolutely no thoughts as to not making a reservation again this year. I read several poor reviews but thought those customers must have been having a bad day. The reviews were spot on, sadly to say! During check in, the clerk was so frustrated that he threw a bit of a tantrum in front of me and another customer while I was checking in. His major issue.....the printer jammed. Ok, bad day who cares. We endured a night without AC. I made a comment to the clerk upon check out and she looked at me like I had snakes coming out of my eyes. Without so much of an apology, she says we're under renovations but not replacing the AC. Her poor attitude makes it easy to say I will not return. However, this hotel is near a hospital that sees many families in distress. Hope they pick a different hotel because this one will only add to their stress!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookwoodInn, Manager at Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are always sorry to learn that a guest had an unpleasant stay. Unfortunately when both temperature and humidity run over 90 it is inevitable that we will have an air-conditioner somewhere that does not perform as well as we would like somewhere throughout the complex. We apologize for the unpleasant night and I will share your comments with the team. If it ever happens again please let us know when the unit fails so we can get you another unit or another room instead of suffering through the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University

Address: 2306 Elba Street, Durham, NC 27705
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#21 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brookwood Inn of Durham is a contemporary high-rise structure. We are the closest hotel to Duke Medical, Duke University, and The Durham Veterans Administration medical center. Complimentary shuttle service is provided both to and from the medical centers and area attractions. Minutes away from Durham Bulls Athletic park, downtown business, the historic district and the convention center, Duke Homestead, Sarah P. Duke gardens, Duke Chapel and convenient to area shopping malls. We offer spacious well appointed guestrooms, on-site restaurant and one complimentary parking pass per room all in a location central to all points in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookwood Inn Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Duke University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookwood Inn Durham near Duke University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.