We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel,but need to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 Emperor Blvd, Durham, NC 27703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Woodbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel,but need to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited Durham-Chapel Hill for 3 days, stayed in this hotel. It was nice,just had a little problem when we got out the high way. They don't have a clearly sigh to show you which way will go to the hotel,little hard for the 1st time visiting there. Otherwise,it's a nice hotel to stay. convenient to everywhere. The room was clean,the bed was very comfy,TV has lots HD channels.Service was excellent. But the bathroom counter was a little small, not enough space for 2 people. The shower was little dated,shower head was too small, not comfy for the showers. The restaurant look pretty,but the food was not the sheraton's standard. We will prefer to drive outside to look for nice restaurant to eat,even for the breakfast. I'll stay there again,but I'll never eat at their restaurant again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    86
    39
    18
    7
See reviews for
21
15
15
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zephryhills,Fl
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here Sept 1st and 2nd while in town for a wedding. Was warmly greeted by Daniel at the front desk. The room did not have the best view but hey we were here to sleep and rest,not look out the hotel window. The beds were really comfortable and 4 scrumptious pillows to each bed. I enjoyed a lunch in the dining room with my daughter and granddaughter. Also,we had breakfast the morning we checked out and it was really good. Lots of choices in the buffett.The dining room staff was very friendly and courteous.Would we stay again, yes!! The only problem were some noisy guests traipsing down the hallway at 3:30am. Not very courteous to guests trying to sleep.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor,room 301 and did not have a very good view out the window,if that's wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

You walk into the lobby and see major renovations that have been made and arrive to your room to find a vey dated room that had plumbing problems ( Sink would not drain ), I was on a Club Floor Room thus did use the Club for light food in the evening as well in the am for breakfast and can report the staff very helpful and freindly! As a frequent SPG Guest (Lifetime Platnium) can only say this property is average at best and needs to update their rooms (all of them) soon! Great location as it is near the airport and right off the highway. Will give credit to the front staff at checkout as reported the problems and was given additional starpoints for the room probelms. I think that I will try other properties next time I am in the area as best Hotel I have found in the area to date is the Hilton Embassy Suites which is new and really gives the traveler more for their money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very dated room with lots of chipped furniture, carpet stains etc. Bathroom not the cleanest and water temperature in the morning barely warm. Stayed in another Sheraton a few weeks back (Charlotte, NC) and same experience. Expensive. No fitness center in suite and was charged $7 to use fitness center (special hotel rate) next to hotel. First time I have been charged to use such a facility whilst staying at a hotel for years.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great weekend! Planning on doing it again- Went to an event that was held in hotel. The staff was attentive and very helpful. The food was average for the banquet nothing I would order. The hotel was excellent- the beds was to die for. The event will be held there next year and I am looking forwards to staying there again. My roommate really enjoyed the pool.

Room Tip: I loved the rooms that overlooked the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I got this room through travelocity "surprise hotel" deal and paid about half price for it. I figured how bad could a 4 star hotel be. I was very pleased that it was the Sheraton Imperial. I had been to conferences there and knew that I liked the hotel. The room was clean, the breakfast buffet was great. The best part was the swimming pool. It was over 100 degrees there every day and I got in the pool at 9am and had a deep cooling swim with the whole pool to myself every morning. Perfect

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First, the beds were soooo comfy! I was a little sleep deprived and appreciated them so much. The bathroom was clean but a little dated.
We stayed for 2 nights and were upgraded to the club level. That gave us access to free breakfast and happy hour food/drinks. The breakfast was about what you would get at a continental breakfast. The happy hour was a little better with cheese display and a couple of hot appetizers. I wouldn't pay it, but I appreciated that I got it for free.
The service was very good and the rooms were quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: See if they will upgrade you to the Club Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 4700 Emperor Blvd, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Imperial Hotel Durham
Sheraton Durham
Durham Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.