We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was awful!! Stay away!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Dunn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Dunn to your Saves list
Quality Inn Dunn
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1011 East Cumberland Street, Interstate Highway 95 & US Highway 421 (Exit 73), Dunn, NC 28334   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dunn
Mechanicsubrg, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place was awful!! Stay away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place was absolutely awful. It started out when our keycards didn't work and the staff had to give us a new room. The room was DIRTY!!! We found french fries hanging out between the mattress and box spring, and we were afraid to touch anything. The A/C didn't cool down the room. Our kids didn't want to swim in the pool because there was debris and slime at the bottom. A total crap hole, no other way to describe it. Fortunately, we only stayed here overnight (eight hour stay total) as part of a long trip from Florida to PA, and didn't stay long enough for breakfast. From the other reviews I've seen on this site, I'm glad we didn't, I can only imagine how crappy the breakfast would have been.

Avoid this creepy, dirty place!! My in-laws (who were travelling with us and stayed in the room next door) have had good experiences at other Quality Inns, but this was not one of them. I can guarantee you that my family and I will never stay at a Quality Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    15
    16
    22
See reviews for
17
28
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel was way below Quality Inn standards. The bathroom was filthy and the breakfast poor(a lot of stale food)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Traveling north I had made a reservation based on Choice loyalty, and low price. Considered going further north but because of the tornatoes forecast we kept the reservation. Beautiful roses blooming in the flont! Enjoyable mexican restaurant attached. It is a very very tired quality inn. Not dirty and very convenient to route 95. The TV which we had briefly called it a Ramada Inn, and one end was labeled Red Roof Inn but I think it was a Quality Inn.

We paid a low price, and could have paid even less with the coupon book. Any port in a storm and we slept well in a basically comfortable toom.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This used to be a nice hotel. Management changed a couple of years ago and it was all downhill like another reviewer. Our room was filled with ants from everywhere and in everything. The desk staff changed our room Breakfast is horrible. It was supposed to be until 8:30AM. But they start clearing everything at 8:10. It just looked shabby. One maid is the housecleaning staff. Even the laundry facility was not clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Loved the location - hotels that are right off I-95 are our favorite, because we don't waste any time trying to find hotels in town, etc. So location was awesome, parking was plentiful. That's about all the pro's we have.

I walked into the lobby which was dimly lit but cozy...to be blasted in the face by loud gospel music. The kid working at the counter was very friendly, but the lobby may as well have been a train station. There were loud, boisterous members of what seemed to be a cultural church coming in and out in droves, entering a room off the lobby - which I assume was the dining room - and every time that door opened, the music was ten times louder. Luckily our room was in the back, away from the noise.

We travel with pets and so I set up their kennels in the room and put their food out, in a dish in the kennel. Within minutes, the food was crawling with ants. We immediately tossed the food, fed the animals by hand, and spent the rest of the night stomping ants. They were in the bathroom, on the walls, along the carpet, by the door, around the shower fan and light....

The room seemed to be very old for a place that had recently been updated. Holes in carpet and walls, stains and damage in the bathroom...did I mention the ants everywhere? We caught a few ants and I brought them to the front desk at checkout (well...just trying to make my point at the time). I didn't dare touch the breakfast after staring at three different types of ants all night. The clerk, who was also very friendly, took $15 off our total charge because of the ants. She didn't argue or seem upset, and thus she earned the third star of this review's rating of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Location was good with easy access but noisy at night due to trucks leaving the interstate and other traffic. The room was clean but shabby, non-smoking but smelled like smoke, stains on carpet and damp feeling. We would not stay here again unless necessary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We needed a one-night stopover returning from Florida, and we selected this hotel because of its proximity to I-95 and its location relative to our travels. A billboard on the highway and the flyers in the lobby say it is newly remodeled. I don't see how - it is really in need of updating.

The lobby was very promising, and the person working was friendly and helpful. It looked updated. However, the rooms were not nearly as nice. We didn't stay for the breakfast, and that was probably a good thing. It was hard to tell where the breakfast area was and other reviews here weren't good regarding the breakfast.

Pros:
- The beds did seem new. They were very clean and comfortable. We all got a very good night's sleep. No issues with the AC.

Cons:
- The ceiling hadn't been cleaned. There were spider webs and dead bugs attached. That thoroughly grossed out the kids. The dead bug on the front door also completely turned them off.
- The bathroom was out of date. The ceiling over the tub was water damaged and looked ready to start coming apart in places.
- The gap under the room door was so large, any number of bugs could have come crawling in (and I'm afraid what would happen if it rained).
- The room layout was just odd. The microwave was next to the sink, but didn't have an outlet to plug it into. The mini-fridge was just sitting on the floor. The iron and ironing board were attached to the wall next to the TV. They are the first things you see when you enter the room.
- We were traveling with other family. They had to change their room because the first one smelled of smoke (even though it was supposed to be non-smoking).

Given that the hotel was charging rates equivalent to the better Comfort/Quality/Sleep line of hotels (which I am generally quite happy with), I was extremely disappointed. At half the price, I might have said it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Dunn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Dunn

Address: 1011 East Cumberland Street, Interstate Highway 95 & US Highway 421 (Exit 73), Dunn, NC 28334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Dunn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dunn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Dunn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Dunn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunn Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Dunn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.