We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An average place to stay"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barrier Island Station - Duck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barrier Island Station - Duck to your Saves list
Barrier Island Station - Duck
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   1245 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Winston Salem
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"An average place to stay"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were suppose to spend a week here at this property but we decided to leave early. I'll be fair and give the property it's just do. Duck, NC is a beautiful place. Nice little shops along the main street (when they are open). Nice restaurants along the way, some are ocean front which was nice. The property itself has a rustic look to it. My experience with the check in staff wasn't stellar, a bit rude, but nothing that was jaw-dropping. The unit we stayed in was a one bedroom, one bath, with a partial-kitchen. The partial kitchen consist of a micro-wave oven, a sink, and a small refrigerator; so don't plan on cramming a lot of food in there. Also be prepared to buy a lot of ice and to keep in your cooler. The property has beach access which is in walking distance too. The things I didn't like too much were minor things but over a period of days wore thin with me. The Parking situation is not good. Six unit condo with space for only three cars. The walls are paper thin so you can hear your neighbors conversations, snoring and other nightly extra-curricular activities. If you're looking for a spot to relax, you're into dining out most evenings, then this particular unit at this property may be for you. I don't think that I would be staying here again.

Room Tip: Book early and make sure the unit you choose has a full kitchen. Also the unit has old appliances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    57
    39
    25
See reviews for
99
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Having just spent a week at Barrier Island station duck, I wanted to write a review on my visit> we had a 3 bedroom 2 bath, and our unit was very clean , had no musty smell which some Ocean Resorts offend have. The kitchen was very large , and had every thing needed to prepare meals, We had a balcony that had a great view of the sound, and the Sun Sets we pretty. The beds were comfortable . The master bedroom was on the top floor with a spiral stair case, and was steap, we had 43 steps to our door, and was a work out! The beach was very nice , and while we were there the steps to the beach were being replace, and we were the first to use the new steps . the indoor pool and hot top was nice . Nothing really bad to say , and we will return but will try for a unit with less steps

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Being the off-season we got a GREAT deal and stayed 4 days. The property is huge and has everything you would want for a fun family vacation. Indoor and outdoor pools, horseshoes, volleyball, tennis courts, soccer field, play ground, private beach access, and boat storage. Also plenty of outside showers for after swimming. The condo we stayed in was very close to the beach-we could hear the ocean. No views unless you're on the top floor but thats to be expected because of the dunes. The interior was a little dated but had everything we wanted and needed and had plenty of space. I gave a 3 for cleanliness only because on our last night we got in the jacuzzi and as soon as we got in hairballs shot out of the jets. It wasnt ours. Didnt have any problems until that. The staff there was very accomadating and soo friendly. They really made it an enjoyable experience and Tabitha really went the extra mile and made us feel at home. I would have scored it overall a 5 except for the hair incident. Really grossed us out!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I went down to Duck right after Christmas to escape the craziness and it was exactly what we needed. We lucked out and got some great weather, which made everything better, of course. First off, the check in staff are very friendly and make checking in a breeze. Second, the unit is adequate. The one bedroom has a partial kitchen, full bath, large bedroom and living area with dining area. There is also a balcony with chairs and table. Our unit was a short walk to the beach and also a short walk to the tennis courts and rec center, where we spent a lot of our time. Tennis courts are in great shape and the rec center was fun with a small pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna. No real changing area, which is a bit of a problem. They offer things in the rec center like a pancake breakfast for four bucks and crafts activities.

We only had a partial kitchen with the one bedroom, which surprised us, so decided to eat breakfast and lunch in and then go out for dinners. We tried a couple of places, but our favorite hands down was Red Sky in Duck.

The DVD player wasn't functional and we called the front desk and a maintenance person was there within 20 minutes, which amazed me, as this place is pretty large and i would imagine the staff is stretched thin. They replaced it, it worked for one DVD and then broke. Oh, well - not such a big deal. But just to say that the units are old and so are the things within it.

In retrospect , it was a great trip, a fun time, great location, good people, great tennis and some great seafood.

Room Tip: two bedroom so that you have a full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We go to the Outer Banks every year. Last year my review of Barrier Island focused on the terrible conditions in the unit. . Although we still had a problem with it not being terribly clean (I still bring my own cleaning supplies) and no linens when we checked in, It was somewhat better overall.We are hoping the new management is going to attempt some improvements every year. The units are still very worn and we did not see any improvements in the appliances or furniture, but if you want a casual vacation in a beautiful setting near the ocean, then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family has a timeshare at Barrier Island Station so we go about every other summer and we love spending our time in Duck more and more each year. The resort has both indoor and outdoor pools, a rec room, video/DVD rentals, video games a different activity each night. The furthest condos are maybe a quarter to half mile walk to the beach, so I recommend taking a car early in the morning with all the "beach gear" and parking it at the beach parking area and leaving it there all day. There is a tram that drives the loop around the station so it is easy to hop on and off, but walking thru the pool areas and thru the middle is pleasant. There is a bar/grill directly across the road and this is a fun place in the evenings. Also has jet ski rentals and parasailing across the road too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGETOWN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We rented a 2 bedroom unit for a week at the end of Oct. The check-in was probably the easiest we have ever had. The staff was very helpful, we had questions about Halloween for a toddler, and the employees were drawing maps for us! We were very pleased with our unit and had a beautiful view from the 3rd floor. The second night there we had a REALLY bad rain and wind storm. Rain had leaked in by the door on the top floor and was dripping into the dining room on the floor below. We alerted the office of this and in the morning they insisted we move to another unit ,so they could take care of the issue. These things happen, but to act on it so quickly was a nice surprise! The new unit was actually a 3 bedroom, with less steps, and was beautiful. We had extra room so my brother and sister-in law were able to come stay 2 days with us! The units may not all be new and in excellent shape but the location,the ammenities, and the caring staff more than make up for the older units.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrier Island Station - Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Island Station - Duck

Address: 1245 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barrier Island Station - Duck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Barrier Island Station - Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Island Station - Duck Hotel Duck
Barrier Island Station - Duck NC - Outer Banks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrier Island Station - Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.