We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Table” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimball's Kitchen

Kimball's Kitchen
1461 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4635
252-261-8419
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kimball's Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Duck
Price range: $48 - $90
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: If a special evening of dining is in your plans, look no further than Kimball’s Kitchen, formerly the Left Bank. Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu. Kimball’s Kitchen offers everything that is special about both the Sanderling and the Outer Banks. Spotlighting local, grass-fed prime steaks, freshly caught local seafood, and an extensive raw bar selection, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Of particular note are the numerous varieties of local oysters and the classic seafood tower, with a daily changing list of locally caught fish and seafood. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.
Irvington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Grand Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Chef Lawrence is a master at culinary arts... whole meal was great, with a few morsels added to our fare.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Thank you! We will be sure Chef John sees your kind compliments. We hope you will visit us again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The folks at Kimball's a Kitchen have the knack of combining all of the elements of fine dining and serving them up on a totally non-stuffy atmosphere. It's hard to describe how perfectly Lisa cared for our every need, even offering great suggestions and advice when asked. And she did it all with a sense of humor. Even Sean (Shawn?) behind the bar took a keen interest in preparing just the right cocktail. The kitchen staff must be just as dedicated to ensuring each guest is delighted with their experience judging from the presentations and the tastes delivered to our table. One little piece of advice, if you like seafood order the Tower of Power. That's not the official name but they'll know what you mean.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience AND special recommendation! We will be sure to share your review with Lisa and Shawn along with the rest of the culinary team. We hope you will return to dine with them soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Romantic Honeymoon Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My husband and I ate here while staying in Duck. We were given a window seat (which are the best in the restaurant). The evening was perfect for the dinner, the sunset was amazing that night. Out of all the restaurants I have been to in Duck, this is the best to see the sunset and also the most romantic.

I ordered lamb (which was cooked perfect) and my husband ordered the "catch of the day" which was red snapper. We really enjoyed our meals. They also had a very good wine list. They actually had our favorite bottle of champagne (and was reasonably priced).

The staff was also great and very knowledgeable.

Overall it was a great experience and would recommend it to anyone celebrating something special.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Congratulations! We hope we can celebrate many special anniversaries and occasions with you in the future. Glad the food, champagne, service and view were all stellar for your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little more patience perhaps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

They seemed to be in a rush, or that you were a bother. Maybe they were gearing down for the winter close at the end of October.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your concerns. We never want to rush service or the experience and will use this for further training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohnton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Kimball's is the place for that special night out with your other half. The service is impeccable, the atmosphere is refined, and if you happen to catch a great sunset that is just icing on the cake. You will, however, pay for your pleasure as it is also one of the most expensive places on the OBX. The OBX has many great restaurants and this one ranks right at the top.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. We are glad you joined us for your special occasion and hope you will dine with again while in the Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimball's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kimball's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimball's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.