We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but pricey food, service and overall experience not what it was” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kimball's Kitchen

Kimball's Kitchen
1461 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4635
252-261-8419
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kimball's Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 29 restaurants in Duck
Price range: $48 - $90
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: If a special evening of dining is in your plans, look no further than Kimball’s Kitchen, formerly the Left Bank. Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu. Kimball’s Kitchen offers everything that is special about both the Sanderling and the Outer Banks. Spotlighting local, grass-fed prime steaks, freshly caught local seafood, and an extensive raw bar selection, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Of particular note are the numerous varieties of local oysters and the classic seafood tower, with a daily changing list of locally caught fish and seafood. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey food, service and overall experience not what it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We ate at Kimball's Kitchen on a mid week evening. Like other reviewers, we had been to this restaurant when it was the Left Bank (prior to the Sanderling Resort's "re-imagination"). While the food was actually quite good, several things bothered us especially when compared to what we experienced here just a few years ago.

The greeter and waitstaff were quite friendly, although they lacked the polish and decorum we had grown accustomed to. The bread was served in a haphazard fashion without asking us which we would prefer, the waiter never introduced himself or explained the menu or the specials. Utensils were almost thrown onto the table. We waited for the better part of 15 minutes for the dessert to come out at the end.

Apart from service issues, we were disappointed in a few other things. The dress code seemed non-existent as most of the men were present in shorts, even some in T-shirts! The gorgeous carpeting of the Left Bank had been removed and replaced by hardwood flooring. This made the restaurant extremely noisy, even at 2/3 capacity. The ingenious use of retractable screens to shield the patrons from blazing sunset brightness over the Sound was marred by the fact that a few of them seemed to be malfunctioning. It was surprisingly warm inside and a quick check of the thermostat on the way to the restroom revealed it was 76 degrees in there!

These may seem like trivialities, but when you pay a steep price for a dining "experience" and your attention is diverted to side issues such as this, it leaves you with bit of a hollow feeling at the end of the evening. There's no doubt this is a very nice place to have dinner, but until the service, maintenance and overall presentation improves, you would be better off going to The Blue Point a few miles south. You'll save a great deal of money and still have a view of the sound while you enjoy a very good dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for giving Kimball's Kitchen a try and we appreciate you sharing your experience. It is difficult when you are a new restaurant with a new menu and new chef being compared to something that was there previously just because you are in the same building. It is definitely meant to be more resort casual and someone should feel comfortable coming less dressed than was expected at the Left Bank. The curtains were left in place to assist with shielding the sun until the retractable screens which were on backorder could be replaced. Unfortunately this traveler was there an evening that there was a problem with the condenser to the air conditioning which has been addressed. We will continue to strive to make this a memorable experience that one wants to return to time and again ...not just for the food but also the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    24
    9
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Very happy with the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well, they must have worked out the initial problems because we had a delightful dinner here. Don't bother asking for a window table since every table in the restaurant has an outstanding view of the bay. And at sunset they dramatically press a button and all of the shades automatically open. The space was modern yet warm with the hardwoods. It was a lovely space.

The staff is knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was decent. There were a few preparation errors but for the most part we really enjoyed the duck and the flounder special. Their version of oysters Rockefeller with spinach, Pernod creme and blue crab was excellent and easy to share. The brioche bread pudding was especially good. The caramel sauce was perfect.

It was expensive, but no no more so than the other nearby upscale restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience and do hope you will return. We appreciate the time to tell us what we did well and areas we can improve. I would agree there is not a bad seat in the house for that stunning sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I used to go to the Left Bank often and loved it. So we had some trepidations about going to Kimball's Kitchen. We were concerned that the staff had changed, the chef had changed and that the atmosphere wouldn't be as nice as its predecessor. We were thoroughly impressed. Matt, our wiater, was indeed at the restaurant in the past and was superb. While the menu has shifted more towards steak house fare, the food was prepared exactly as we ordered it and was uniformly delicious. They really have made a successful transition. We will go back again and again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Kimball's Kitchen. We are glad you enjoyed the menu and the same wait staff to provide you excellent service. We look forward to dining with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This restaurant has replaced The Left Bank. Name is changed and probably the menu but it is still extremely expensive for what you get. The view is lovely overlooking the Currituck Sound. The waitstaff is friendly and knowledgeable and attentive. But I found the menu limited and the prices over the top for this area. Entrees come without any sides so what you get is a piece of fish or meat and that is it. My sea bass was tasty and cooked perfectly but for $36 a side salad or veggie would have been nice. I am a local and if I decide to dine more upscale, I would choose Ocean Blvd., Blue Point or 1587 rather than Kimball's Kitchen. Not sure it is well named - sounds like a down home breakfast place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kimball's near Corolla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

this restaurant switched over from "fine dining" to a more varied menu and specializing in steak. It's right on the sound at the Sanderling Inn between Duck and Corolla, N.C. Wine menu was above average and prices reflected same, but if you want more of an upscale dinner experience with a water view, this is the place! Check it out next time you visit the Outer Banks of N.C.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for recently visiting Kimball's Kitchen. We are glad you enjoyed the new menu along with that same amazing view. We hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimball's Kitchen also viewed

 
Duck, Outer Banks
 

Been to Kimball's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimball's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.