We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1152 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Duck B&B and Inns
Belmont, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything was clean and well kept. Breakfast was only ok. Pre-order your bagel day before, and you also get coffee and fruit. The location was perfect for everything Duck! The beach was great and easy to access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My mother and I spent the weekend in the outer banks. This b&b was quaint and not too far from many local attractions. We stayed in the Wood Duck room. The bed and bathroom were spacious and well kept. Carolyn was a sweetheart and a wonderful hostess. The whole trip was a success and we would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sleeping Duck last summer during a brief stay in Duck, NC. We absolutely love this area of the Outer Banks and it was our second visit to the area. This time we decided to try a new place to stay and really enjoyed our time at this B&B. We stayed in the Blue Wing Teal room. The inn-keeper was very kind, friendly, and accommodating. The bed was very comfortable, the room was roomy enough for our short stay, and the location of this B&B was very convenient to the hustle and bustle of the small-town atmosphere in Duck. We have recommended this spot to others and will continue to do so! We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Manager at The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much! We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Sincerely,
Carolyn and Shane Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and hated to leave. It is the type of place we could stay at for many more days. Carolyn, our hostess, was very sweet and concerned about our comfort. She was friendly and helpful without going overboard. Our room, the Wood Duck, was cozy and warm and the king bed was amazing. The breakfast was continental style--a fresh-baked bagel and cream cheese, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Carolyn goes out every morning to pick up fresh bagels from a local bakery. We were very glad we chose the Sleeping Duck.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Manager at The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We wanted to thank you all for the great reviews! Apologies for the late response. So far, it's been another great season, and we are truly grateful to all of our guests for their patronage. We look forward to seeing everyone soon! Have a great summer!

Shane and Carolyn Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights at the Sleeping Duck and enjoyed our stay. The B&B is conveniently located to the beach and to several restaurants in Duck. It is also close enough for an early morning walk on the boardwalk. Our visit was not during the summer rush so there were not a lot of people in Duck but I can see the B&B being very convenient if you like being away from the crowds but still close enough to walk or bike into town. Carolyn was very welcoming and we enjoyed talking with her during breakfast. We stayed in the Blue Winged Teal Room which is very cozy. There is also a billiard room and a living room with a huge TV, just in case you have to spend some time indoors. We traveled a long way and on the first night we just wanted to relax and watch the playoffs so it was really nice to have comfortable sitting space in which to eat our take out. We would stay here if we found ourselves in the Outer Banks again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I looked for a quiet and cozy place to have a few relaxing days in outer banks. The sleeping duck was the perfect choice. Carollyn cared for everything with her warm-hearted manner. The rooms are excellent, we spent a rainy day in the lovely place enjoying the nicely equipped living room, kitchen and billard room. We would come back any time.
Ulrike and Georg

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was the second time my husband and I stayed at this wonderful B&B with Carolyn. We come to Duck every year during the summer with our family, however, each fall for the past 2 years we have celebrated our anniversary at the Sleeping Duck. It really does feel like home away from home. The rooms are very comfortable and Carolyn is just the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1152 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1989 by The Ball Family, The Sleeping Duck is located in the quaint Town of Duck, N.C. We are minutes away from local shopping centers and restaurants whether you are walking, driving, or riding a bike. This charming and spacious bed and breakfast is just off of Duck Rd, next to Amy Lane, and across the street from the "Welcome to Duck" sign with the hand-carved duck. The Atlantic Ocean is roughly a fifteen minute walk from our front door, with a secluded access to the Currituck Sound just over the hill behind us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sleeping Duck Bed And Breakfast NC - Outer Banks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.